doug — off the record

just a place to share some thoughts


Computer badging

At the CSTA Reception last evening, those in attendance had a change to mix and mingle and there was a special speaker.

She was from the Girl Scouts and shared with us the concept of badging.  For this former Boy Scout, it was a bit of a review.  I can recall all of the badges that I had accumulated during my time as a Boy Scout.  There were so many important skills that we had to demonstrate to an evaluator in claim our badge.

I hadn’t thought about the process for a while so it was a nice review.  Now, this is a Computer Science conference and I and many others came to attention when the discussion turned to badging for digital skills.

The complete list of badges available can be viewed online and they’re searchable by category.  I was pleasantly surprised to see the category STEM listed.

Screenshot 2017-07-10 at 04.46.09

Things have certainly changed from the days of living and surviving in the outdoors.

I really hadn’t stayed in touch.  How about the Girl Guide program in Canada?  The online presentation is different but Computer Skills are available as a badge there as well.

With my background being so many years ago, I was very pleasantly surprised to see the inclusion of these skills to the badging program.

Awesome.

 



Please share your thoughts here. I’d enjoy reading them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.