The right tool

So, yesterday, I muddled around with getting check lists into a Google Document.  It was relatively easy but did require a couple of steps.  I tried to do the same thing with Microsoft Word Online and it took at least those couple of steps!  I’ve come to the conclusion that the natural destination for these documents is to paper and perhaps that’s why so many steps were needed.

Why is this important to me?  I like to keep lists of everything and check them off to make sure that I have things covered.  So, tomorrow I have to make sure that I’m ready for the CSTA Conference.  Another check list.

Over the years, I’ve used a number of digital checklist applications, including one that I wrote for myself.  Upon further reflection, maybe I was just trying to use the wrong tool.  I want it available on any device that I happen to be using, I want it to be updated immediately, and I may not always have a keyboard with me – sometimes, it’s just a finger.

Slowly, I backed away from these powerhouse applications and went with a couple that made more sense, had the tool I needed, the ease I wanted, and the ability to be wherever I happen to be.

Microsoft OneNote

This was a no-brainer.  Right in the toolbar was an icon devoted to creating a checklist.  Tapping a box once created make it perfect.

2017-07-05_0748

Google Keep

Equally as slick was Google Keep.  I just created my list first and then used the option to create tick boxes.

2017-07-05_0836

2017-07-05_0840

I like how it discards the selected option by shoving it to the bottom.

Evernote

My first, and probably the one I’m most comfortable with note taking application.  Like OneNote, it has a checkbox option.  Check it and away you go!

2017-07-05_0842

Three slick solutions, to be sure.  I don’t think you can make a wrong choice in any of them.

It’s a reminder that “if the only tool you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like nails”.  Sometimes, digitally, there’s a better tool right at your fingertips.

Which one do you use?  Or do you use something else?

2 Replies to “The right tool”

  1. Doug, I’ll definitely have to investigate these options. I haven’t used any of them. When it comes to a To Do List, or usually a checklist of any kind, I usually use the old-fashioned paper and pencil (although, it’s often a marker or a crayon for me 🙂 ). This is the one time that I prefer paper. I wonder if any others are the same.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. It may be just me but do you know how many times my paper list has gone through the wash because it was in my pocket and I was too dumb to take it out. I don’t ever recall my Smartphone going through the same ordeal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

