Random learning

Learning, or at least getting started to learn, is relatively easy for the self-motivated learner.  You think of a topic that you’d like to learn or learn more about and then proceed to do the heavy lifting.

The key is knowing what it is that you want to learn.

What if you allowed the learning to be random?

Part of what I do on a daily basis is done this way.

In my Quora account, I have the service send me a daily digest.  In this digest, I will end up with about four questions from this crowd-sources Q&A resource.

And I’m off to read about them and maybe even more…

This morning, I learned:

Ah, the learning is sweet.

Now, you have to fully recognize and appreciate that the questions and answers are crowd created so there may be topics that are NSFW.  And, not everyone is a genius with  every topic but it’s really appreciated when an expert comes along with the right answers and resources to support it.  But, at the same time, there’s nothing that stops you from asking that burning question that’s always bothered you or to provide a good answer to someone else’s question.

If this appeals to you, head over to Quora and sign up.  You’ll be glad you did and it might just help you win those trivia arguments.

One Reply to “Random learning”

  1. You knew this was going to totally appeal to me, didn’t you. That seems
    like a rabbit hole with my name on it – plus the kind of questions my students want answers to. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

