Wonders of the Ontario world

Earlier this week, I had explored the new Google Earth and warned myself that This may take a while.   One of the things that I enjoyed exploring was the Wonders of the Ancient and Modern world.

That was my inspiration and I thought.  Ontario doesn’t need to take a back seat the the other parts of the world.  We have lots of natural and man-made things to enjoy.  So, I sought out to see what I could see via the 3D experience.

I learned that there are better quality mapped areas within the province.   I learned that it take a fine control to rotate, zoom in and out, to get the best possible picture.  And, I learned that sometimes the best images come from Street view and, quite frankly, just from people who know how to take and share a good picture.

I’m sure that my collection isn’t inclusive and would challenge you to explore and share on your own.  This could be fun.  Some of what I chose to include may be up for debate – so debate me – and come up with something better!

Oh, and for the record, I’ve been to all these.

CN Tower

2017-04-19_0641.png

Niagara Falls

2017-04-19_0703.png

The Big Nickel in Sudbury

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.38.56

Jumbo Monument in St. Thomas

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.41.15

The Tip at Point Pelee

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.43.16

Casa Loma in Toronto

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.45.26

Kakabeka Falls

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.46.20

The Sleeping Giant in Thunder Bay

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.50.44

The Rideau Canal (was hoping for a winter shot)

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.52.26

The North Entrance to the Welland Canal (Port Weller)

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.54.25

The Beach at Grand Bend (Ontario’s best beach.  I might hear about this)

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 09.56.39

Glen Abbey

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 10.02.43.png

A Waterfall near Hamilton on the 403 (Looks dry here but not so earlier this week)

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 10.12.22

Math and Computers Building  at the University of Waterloo

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 10.44.25

Ontario Legislature 

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 10.37.01

Canadian Parliament Buildings

Screenshot 2017-04-21 at 10.35.42.png

Do you agree with my choices?  What would you add?

4 thoughts on “Wonders of the Ontario world

  1. What a great collection of places! Thinking about what our students explored yesterday, I know that they would add some sports places to the list: The Air Canada Centre, Roger’s Centre, and BMO field. I’m curious to know what others may add.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. An interesting list. I’ve seen many but not all. I’d add Algonquin Park, 1000 Islands, Stratford Festival Theatre, and the Windsor Waterfront Sculpture Garden. I wonder if you’ll get any feedback from Wasaga Beach residents regarding your pick of Grand Bend as best beach in Ontario. And what about Port Stanley – that’s a great beach town too!

    Like

  3. I’d add Sauble Beach, and do the throwdown on it being the best beach in the province. I’d also include Manitoulin in all its gorgeousness. I’d zero in on some of my favourite spots in the Interior of Algonquin (the Otterslides), Peterborough’s amazing Liftlock, and maybe the Marine Railway at Big Chute. Sainte Marie among the Hurons in Midland, and the Martyr’s Shrine across the Road; Agawa Canyon; the Petroglyphs; the Goose in Wawa. If that glorious record-shopping section of Yonge Street was still there, I’d add it, but architecturally, let’s add the AGO and the ROM. My alma mater’s architecture is generally yucky, except for Tabaret Hall (University of Ottawa), but I’m very fond of the buildings at Trinity College, U of T, where my husband did his Master’s. Nepean Point, behind the National Gallery in Ottawa, is one of my favourite spaces in the world.

    This province is astoundingly rich in both natural and built wonders. Thanks for the prompt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

