Never on April 13

My Windows challenges had a groundhog effect!

A couple of days ago, I decided to boot my computer into Windows and make sure that all of the updates had been applied.  I nipped over to the update section and, sure enough, there were significant things to be updated.  I said “go” and then went about other things.  This would be a long download.  When I returned, it was sitting at 95%. I was pretty excited; we’re almost there.  Off I went to do some other things and when I returned, it was still at 95%.  Another couple of hours later, the same thing.

Darn.

Well, that’s not quite what I said.  So, I shut things down and went about other things.  

Now, I’m not superstitious or anything but it was April 13, just not a Friday if that matters.  Later, I figured that I’d turn it on and have another go at it.  But, instead of the login process, I got an error message.

That confuses me since I am the administrator here.

Another couple of reboots and no change.  What do they say about expecting change?

Then, I decided to try something and disconnected the network cable and the wireless and rebooted.  This time, I was in.  I plugged the cable back in and was on the Internet again.  I let my computer do some more downloading…  A reboot and the warning to not turn off the computer ensued.  Things looked good until I tried to log in and got the message again.  Wha….

It hit me.  Of all the problems that I’ve ever hand, this one seemed familiar.  Of course, I blog a lot and bells were going off in my mind.  Let’s do a quick search for “Windows login problems”  Sure enough, I had had the same problem.  On April 13, 2016.  Exactly one year ago to the date.  My post was called “Live by the cloud …”  (Actually, that’s where I got the image above.)

I read the post again.  Boy, that guy is a good author.  I applied the same solution, rebooted, and logged in nicely.

Somehow, the account type had changed back.  I probably should do some research and figure this out.

In the meantime, let’s see what happens a year from now.

Leave a Reply

