A duet

I have two musical goals in life.

  1. Play a piano duet with Sir Elton John
  2. Learn how to play the piano

Probably neither of these will ever happen.  I may even have them in the wrong order.

But that’s OK.  Google has me covered with a new “experiment” called A.I. Duet.

I’m fascinated with the intelligence that can be built into a computer and the results that we see and read about daily.  I think that we all know that we’re on the edge of great things as terrific programmers take on and understand concepts and create something new.  In particular, it’s impressive when it’s something new that the computer has created for us.

That’s the premise behind the A.I. Duet.  Watch this video; it may be the best two minutes of learning you do today.

I found the discussion of machine learning and neural networks fascinating.

Even more fascinating is playing with this experiment and watching it respond to my touch.

In the classroom, what a wonderful hands-on example to begin discussion.

  • How does it do this?
  • How does it respond to different tempos or combination of notes?
  • Does it do a better job with someone who knows how to play versus the “kitten on the keys?
  • Does your interaction with the experiment make it smarter or dumber?  How?
  • Can more than one player make it work harder or get better results?

I’m no better now playing the keyboard than when I first started playing around.

But, I do now have a partner to play duelling pianos with.

Leave a Reply

