About TWIOE

It was interesting watching the reaction to yesterday’s This Week in Ontario Edublogs post.  As a blogger, you never really know in advance how well any particular post will be received but this post in the series always seems to do well.

https://dougpete.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/this-week-in-ontario-edublogs-242/

The number 242 at the end of the URL is WordPress’ way of saying that there are multiple copies of this post with the same title.  So, I’ve been doing this for a while.  The number of posts is actually more than 242.  There were times when I messed up the name of the post so they didn’t get added in!  On the other hand, it means that I got it right 243 times.  That’s a lot of Fridays.

A while ago, I made this graphic as a button to show off some of my favourite bloggers.  (I made the offer to customize a personal one for anyone who wanted one for their own blog)

So, if there are 52 weeks in a year and I try not to miss a Friday … well, you can do the math.

I often get questions about why and how I do it.  Ever looking for a topic to write about, I’m on it.

Why?

I guess the best answer is why not?  Seriously, though, a long time ago I watched how various blogs would be received by others. There were a number of really big name bloggers who seemed to get all the attention.  I recognize that they do it to sell their books or to get speaking jobs but I couldn’t imagine that their passion was any greater than a teacher reflecting on a lesson or an observation that they had during the day and chose to blog about it.

The traditional route would be to drop a comment on their blog and then move on.  But, I wanted a little more.  The comment is typically just a moment between the author and me.  If I turned the tables just a bit, I could make sure that others read my thoughts but, more importantly, might be drawn to read the original post.

There’s also the thing about a reply to a post.  It’s typically a reaction to the original post at that moment.  Good, but perhaps not as good as it could be if I had the chance to really think about it.  Consequently, mulling over a post and then writing a reply later gives me an advantage.

Then, there’s the connections.  As the original post would bounce around in my mind, I could often see personal connections to the post.  It makes it a bit more personal, more meaningful to me (and hopefully the original author), and sometimes gives me inspiration for post of my own.

How?

There’s no single way that I’ve managed this concept over the years.  In the beginning, I’d tuck the URL away in Evernote and then bring the links over to the blog later.  But, I’ve found a better way that works for me.  I start the blog post on Saturday morning and schedule it for the next Friday.  Then, as I find things I’d like to feature, I just add them in.  The real advantage is that I can make the actual post a work in progress.

How do I find the blog posts?  Like everyone, I have my favourites and you may notice that there are some authors who regularly are featured in the post.  It’s because I enjoy their insights, their thoughts, their writing style, and so much more. Another place to turn is the Livebinder of Ontario Edubloggers.  I also maintain a Feedly account with content so that I know when something is new and fresh.  But, more often, I’ll look to my Twitter feed to see whose written something and shared it with the world.  Why not help it go just a bit further.  Or, every now and again, someone will have written a post and ask me to include it.

The sad part is that I don’t get a chance to include all the blog posts that I’ve read.  I do try to cull them to make it readable and I make the effort to try to include as many different bloggers as I can.

As I often say, “my blog, my rules”.  You may be aware that I like to do a #FollowFriday of some of the wonderful folks in Ontario Education who have been active recently.  The very first #FollowFriday, scheduled for 5am to go along with the TWIOE post on any given Friday, is always an acknowledgement to the bloggers that are featured that week.

Yesterday’s was …

All of this works when you’re a reading junkie such as me.

It’s been a great ride and I want it to continue.  Ontario Edubloggers are a special sort of educator.  I hope that you enjoy reading TWIOE as much as I enjoy writing the post.

All of the posts can be accessed via the archive here.

And, if you’re a blogger and not on the list, why not add yourself so that I can follow you?

5 Replies to “About TWIOE”

  1. Doug, it was so interesting reading your thinking behind these posts. I start off every day reading your blog posts. The Friday ones are definitely my favourite. You have helped me learn about so many new bloggers, and these Friday posts always give me my reading for the week. Not only do I enjoy reading the blog posts you feature, but I love reading your comments on them. You often give me a different perspective. I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: “thank you for connecting so many Ontario edubloggers, and thank you for including me as part of this group!”

    Aviva

    Like

  2. Thank you for the kind comment, Aviva. I won’t take too much offence that you enjoy my comments about others work and not the regular original posts from me!

    Like

  3. I’m with Aviva here. The Friday posts keep me thinking and reflecting all week. I share them with colleagues, friends and (yes, really) my family. It’s a blog space that feels like home, that grows my community, that lets me know what my companions in the arena of change are up to. Thanks for a glimpse into how it works.

    Like

  4. Thank you both, kind ladies. You know I was just yanking your chain, Aviva. I value the readership and the opportunity to read your comments and appreciate the sharing of the URL that you do. We really have become a nice community, as Lisa notes. Together, we learn so much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

