Generating ideas

2017 is almost upon us.

For many, it’s a time to make (and then probably break) a resolution.  Here’s help to hopefully stop you from breaking one.

In the blogging world, there’s a flurry of blogs that will appear as the New Year’s resolution “I need to start a blog” kicks in.

Unfortunately, there will be some that are up for a bit and then are gone.  There will be all kinds of reasons and excuses – I don’t have the time – the day job takes most of my time – and then the biggy – I don’t have any ideas.

Of course, if you limit yourself and your blog’s scope, it’s quite easy to run out of ideas.  But, if you’re willing to expand that scope, there’s lots to write about.

Particularly in education.

By nature, educators are observers.  That’s what we do.  So, why not take your observations and turn them into blog posts?

There are lots of areas where others would like to read your thoughts.

  • something happened in class today
  • you wouldn’t believe what the board office said that we have to do
  • I work with the greatest of professionals
  • you have to check out this new resource
  • uh oh – here comes the latest educational fad

How’s that for a start?

However, if you’re looking for constant inspiration, you might want to check out the Blog Post Ideas Generator.  That’s the web version; an extension for the Chrome browser is available here.

 

Here are some ideas that it generated for me.

  • 9 Proven __________ That __________ Like Crazy
  • The biggest myths about X are…
  • Lessons learned during my time at…
  • My favorite place on earth is…
  • The best way to respond to….

Doesn’t that inspire you to sit down and write and share?

Don’t limit the use to yourself; if your students are blogging and have hit the wall, this might just be enough to inspire them to write and write more.

4 thoughts on “Generating ideas

  1. Doug, thanks for sharing this generator! I will have to check it out. What really stuck out for me in this post though was your idea to “blog about observations.” I think this is what I do the most. My teaching partner is used to me now making the comment after something’s happened or after we’ve discussed something: “I think I need to blog about this.” I appreciate reading posts that include examples, and I like writing posts that also include them. As long as we’re careful about students and privacy, I see nothing to be worried about. I hope that more people choose to “blog about observations.” These are more blogs I’d like to read.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. I agree, Aviva. I know that you’re careful not to name names. I follow your blog religiously and I like the questions that you ask yourself based upon real experiences. I think that there are two real advantages there – one, you’re making your learning and thinking visible and generate answers from yourself and others and two, you’re showing others that it’s ok to be vulnerable and admit that you don’t have the answer to everything. Like you say, if more people do that, we’d all be better, growing from the experience.

    Like

  3. Thanks Doug! I do hope that more people consider blogging (and with this “observation” thought in mind). I think we could learn a lot from (and with) each other.

    Aviva

    Like

  4. Pingback: Social Media: Is Avoidance Really The Answer? | Living Avivaloca

Leave a Reply

