Whatever happened to …

… Pokémon Go?

I was about to pull this post.  Often, when I know that I’m going to be too tired to blog, I’ll do a couple in advance and then just schedule them.  This was one such post since I thought I would be pretty whipped after the Bring IT, Together conference last week.  My wife said I looked pretty pale and whipped when I got home.

Anyway, I’ve been noticing that my dog walks at the King’s Navy Yard in Amherstburg have been pretty lonely lately.  Often, it’s just the dog and me checking out the floor gardens.  Each of us in our own respective ways, of course.

It wasn’t like that this summer.  The park was a crazy place for people walking around glued to their cell phones, playing Pokémon Go. Normally, I’d be inspired to check it out first hand but I didn’t want to be part of this group that was truly bumping into each other, talking to either themselves or their phones, hunting through gardens, looking around trees, and so much more in their search.  I have my own idiocyncrasies.

I’m always intrigued with applications that are available for free.  How do they make money?  In the case of Pokémon Go, they make a LOT of money.  Record making successes.

You never know for sure but this paragraph from the article blows me away.

Worldwide revenue for in-app purchases is expected to hit $58.2 billion this year and rocket to $76.5 billion in 2017, according to data gathered by Statista.

The key is to sell everything else except the app.  It’s an interesting business model that has been hugely successful.  

Until recently, I thought.  You never see them around much anymore – at least in our park.

I felt bad for Andrew Campbell for submitting this session for Bring IT, Together 2016.  Learning Space: PokemonGO  I thought that, perhaps, he’d hitched his horse to the wrong cart.  

But, as I’m wandering the convention centre assuring that all the session rooms were ready to go, I saw actual grown up educators hunting the centre, planning, hatching, I’m not sure if they were battling.

I seem to have predicted the demise too soon.  Maybe with the cooler weather, they’ve just moved inside.

How about you?

  • Did you or have your ever played Pokémon Go?
  • Did you play it at the Bring IT, Together conference?
  • Have you ever seen someone trip over something or bump into something while they were playing?
  • Is there a place for Pokémon Go or something like it in education?
  • Is this the business model of the future?

As always on a Sunday, I’m curious to hear your thoughts.

Please share them via comment below.

Do you have an idea or thought that would be appropriate for my “Whatever happened to … ” series of blog posts.  They can all, by the way, be revisited here.

Please visit this Padlet and add your idea.  I’d love for it to be an inspiration for a post!

But first, how are you using your camera and/or phone?

2 thoughts on “Whatever happened to …

  1. I would like to play Pokemon Go, but I live in rural northern Ontario. Despite Pokemon being ostensibly forest-dwelling, they seem to have migrated to urban locales recently. Too bad.😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have yet to play or even understand Pokemon Go, but I feel as though Adele, Jared, and Andrew should read this post. Adele loved the number of Pokestops around the conference (conference committee, you did well🙂 ), and one night, we sat on a Pokestop at dinner, and I think Pokemon Go joined us for the meal. I saw all three of these conference goers catch at least one Pokemon (often more), so maybe the sheer number of them in Niagara Falls inspired some increased play. I still think about Andrew’s tweet during Thursday’s keynote on my supposed selfie challenge (no such challenge existed by the way🙂 ), and am a little disappointed that #AvivaGo never caught on as much as the Pokemon variety.🙂 Curious to hear what others have to say about this.

    Aviva

    Like

Leave a Reply

