This Week in Ontario Edublogs

Real thoughts.  Real concepts.  Reality from the blogs of Ontario Educators.  Check out some of these posts.


I Love My New Job

Didn’t we all have that emotion when we got a new one?  After all, that’s why you said yes to the job offer.

After a couple of months into her new job, Eva Thompson reflects on her experience.

I think that it’s positive in her growth as a professional that she feels that way and that she’s continually learning.  What more could a person want?  It also speaks nicely of her employer to put her in such a position and support her doing this.


Be More Salmon

I’ve never been a fan of eating salmon as a food but I’ve always been intrigued by the traits of the salmon and its pereverance at getting where it needs to be.  Who hasn’t seen videos of this?

Matthew Oldridge takes us to the Credit River for this thought.

It leads to a great question.  Should we all “be more salmon”?


The ABCs of October

It’s a trip through the alphabet with Sue Bruyns.

We’ve all experienced them before and interestingly enough, when I did some research, women are more prone to them…..  Earworms!  You know when a song gets stuck in your head and no matter what you do, it plays over and over again.

She uses the alphabet to reflect on what October thoughts that she had.

There’s some great thinking here and I suspect that her thoughts might resonate with many people.

And, she managed to find a thought for a Q as well.  You’ve got to love that.


What Does “You Don’t Know… What You Don’t Know…” Really Mean?

I feel like this is how I live my life.  By exploring and playing around, there’s so much more to learn.  I think that it’s particularly effective for me because there’s that satisfaction that comes from learning about something new, learning more about it, and either mastering it or having at least enough success to get that “Aha” moment.

This post, from Mishaal Surti, should get your thoughts moving about yourself and your students.

There’s an excellent conclusion in the last paragraph and a reminder that, if it wasn’t for this condition, there would be no need for a school system or teachers.


Talk Less, Listen More

Kyle Pearce addresses his own bit of learning in his new role.

He describes an interesting approach to backing away from expressing his thoughts in favour of listening to others.  I hope that he thinks this through.  In education, listening isn’t necessarily all that it’s cracked up to be.  For any topic, in his case mathematics education, there are all kinds of experts for any particular slant on the topic.  I think that you have to be discerning about what you listen and retain.  I’ll throw in a couple of quotes of my own.

  • An expert is someone from out of town
  • An expert knows more and more about everything until she knows absolutely nothing about anything

I think that it’s important to realize that the real genius may well be you.

Talking, blogging, other social media can be very powerful.  (as is listening)  I think that there’s a healthy balance that needs to be found.  Nobody likes a siphon.  Similarly, nobody likes a know it all.  In my opinion, the key to success is to both listen and then “talk” in whatever mode works for you to encourage discussion to help you sharpen your thoughts and approaches.  Give yourself license to be wrong, to change your mind, and to morph towards the goal.


When Peeing And Pooping Enter Play, What Do You Do?

Given that this post from Aviva Dunsiger was posted yesterday, I was wondering if this was click bait to get me to include it in TWIOE!  After I got that, I thought about the comments that a colleague shared with me once about the problems of teaching in a portable classroom.

As I dug into Aviva’s post, she described the very real situation that teachers of our youngest students deal with daily.

Nothing is more amusing to them than “peeing” or “pooping,” and they like to discuss these topics while eating, while playing, and while doing everything else in between.

Anyone who has ever had children of their own know all to well what an important and frustrating time this can be as a child grows.

Of course, the topic never goes away.  But it does pose a continuum of ways that educators need to address it with students.


My epic fail and other learning

What a beautiful lead in to Jennifer Casa-Todd’s recent post.

Now, before you get all excited to find out what the real biological problem is, let’s head it off.

Spoiler Alert.

It’s still an interesting read but deals with Google Keep.

But don’t you just wonder about supper conversations in their house?


SOCIAL EVENTS!

The latest addition to the Bring IT, Together blog outlines all of the social events for attendees.

  • MEGA-MINGLE
  • HyperJam Open Mic Session
  • #BIT16 Reads Book Club Breakfast
  • Thursday ‘AfterSLAM’ Reception
  • BIT’s Got Talent Contest
  • Breakout EDU
  • BIT Minecraft Party
  • Social time at Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville
  • Rise and shine it’s exercise time!

Oh, and there’s a pretty good conference wrapped around all this social stuff.

It’s tough to think that, a week from now, it will be all over.


There’s always some pretty amazing thinking and sharing from Ontario Edubloggers.  I hope that you take the opportunity to click through and read the original posts and share a thought or two with the authors.  They’ll appreciate.

Make sure I know about your blog.  Fill out the form at the site above to get added.  And, if you’ve got a great post that should be featured here, don’t hesitate to let me know.

One Reply to “This Week in Ontario Edublogs”

  1. No click bait, Doug … just a very real situation that happened in class on Wednesday (included in the video clip) that made me think more. The post came about because I recorded that “pee song” in class that day, as I played with the students at the water table, and I didn’t stop the discussion. I posted that clip in my blog post that night, but I wondered if anyone might question why. I figured a longer, professional post might be in order. I wrote this one. I appreciate hearing your thinking on it as always. Now off to do some more reading thanks to you.

    Aviva

    Like

Leave a Reply

