This Week in Ontario Edublogs

Happy Friday, everyone.  I hope that today finds you in great shape with your classes after this short week.

Continue this happiness with some great blog reading from Ontario Edubloggers.


I was intrigued by just the title of this post from Rusul Alrubail.

Then, I had to check to see if I was on the right site.  This wasn’t written by her!  In fact, it was an introduction to a podcast interview between Rusul and Rolland Chidiac.

Once I got my head around this, I listened to this 45 minute interview.

It was indeed very interesting and I learned so much more about both Rusul and Rolland.

How Learning To “Get Down” Changed Things For Me!

Aviva Dunsiger wrote another wonderful post that was really a narrative and then a reflection on a real life experience for her.  The whole post is worth reading twice.  Once to understand the situation that Aviva describes.  Then, take a second read and inject yourself into the situation.

Would you be asking yourself the same questions that Aviva asked herself?

Would I have focused on punishment instead of focusing on solving the problem? Would I have seen this behaviour as “misbehaviour” versus “stress behaviour,” and would this perception have changed my actions? 

Riding Around Town

How can you not like a post that includes the words “I have a wonderful job”!  Sue Dunlop rang the bell with those words recently.

She tied her thoughts into International Walk (or Roll) to School Day.  I didn’t know one existed.  I certainly could never have biked to the locations that I needed to be at, for the most part.  But I suppose there were a few.

But, I’ve got to tell you — I had this vision of her flying down the Red Hill Valley Parkway in Hamilton.  My geographic knowledge of Hamilton isn’t all that good.  Would that area be classified as downtown?

Teaching cell phone photography

The title to this post from Brandon Grasley is almost as long as the post itself!  But, it’s well worth the read because there’s a link to his digital photography handout.

Race to Nowhere

While we’re on the topic of short posts, check out Royan Lee’s latest.

I watched Race to Nowhere with some friends. Here’s a little doodle about it.

I hope that you’re curious enough to click through and see his little doodle.


We’re getting closer to the US Election.  But, more importantly, we’re getting closer to the Bring IT, Together Conference.  In this recent post, Peter McAsh gives us a lay of the land for the sessions on Thursday and Friday.

There are really three things to fill your calendar.


  • the sessions
  • the keynote addresses AND
  • the social events on Thursday evening

Don’t plan to do anything else; make sure that you’re registered for everything!

Hopefully, you’ll find as much enjoyment in these posts as I did when I read them.  Please drop by and leave these wonderful bloggers a comment or two.

Then, check out the complete collection of Ontario Edubloggers.

Leave a Reply

