Whatever happened to …

doug — off the record?

I got the news on my phone Friday afternoon.  This blog had been suspended because of a violation of the terms and conditions that all WordPress users must follow.

I had that sinking feeling in my stomach.

What had I done now?

My first thought was that someone was playing a practical joke on me.  But, trying to load the blog dispelled that theory.

Mentally, I traced back in my mind for the past 24 hours.  What went wrong?  I had done my weekly “This Week in Ontario Edublogs” post and then wrote one for Saturday morning about going for a coffee.  Nothing else, to the best of my knowledge, had happened on my end.

It’s not the sort of thing that I deal with easily with my phone.  I fully acknowledge that I’m more of a keyboard person.  When I got home, I went online and sure enough, I was locked out.  I was invited to log into the admin section which was strangely missing all of the regular options except to be able to download the blog.  I did that right away.  I now have 6,294 blog posts in XML format on my hard drive.

Then, I read the terms and conditions again and I didn’t see anything that I thought I had violated.  Fortunately, there was an option to ask for reasons why because “mistakes happen from time to time”.  I immediately filled that out.  I also recognized that it was a holiday weekend so was prepared to wait until Tuesday to get an answer.

In the meantime, I shared a message on my other blog which I use to accumulate the OTR links.  

And I went back to waiting.

It was somewhat pleasing (although embarrassing) to get messages from regular readers indicating that the situation was visible to the whole world and they wanted to know what was up.  Thank you, friends.

Then, this afternoon, I received a friendly message from support indicating that the blog had set off something in their anti-spam that started this.  And, the best part, the blog was restored.  Even the post that I had scheduled for Saturday morning was there although the overnight OTR Links wasn’t.  When the dog and I went for a walk this afternoon, we were both skipping!

Thank you, so much, to WordPress support.

Passing it along to you …

  • did you miss me?
  • have you ever been suspended from some service?  How did you resolve it?
  • if you’re a blogger yourself, do you have a Plan B?
  • it’s not just a blog.  Your computer could crash and lose data at any moment.  When was your last backup?

As always on a Sunday, I’m curious to hear your thoughts.

Please share them via comment.

Do you have an idea or thought that would be appropriate for my “Whatever happened to … ” series of blog posts?

Please visit this Padlet and add your idea.  I’d love for it to be an inspiration for a post!

5 thoughts on “Whatever happened to …

  1. I’m so glad that your blog is restored, Doug! I really missed your morning post yesterday (until it published in the afternoon), and my day actually felt really off not being able to start it by reading, “Doug Off The Record.” I’m glad to read in here that you were able to download your previous posts. I thought about this and how hard it would be to lose your work. It’s more than just “information,” it’s reflections too. On this Thanksgiving Day weekend, I’m thankful that “Doug Off The Record” is restored, and my favourite way to start the day continues again.



  2. Oh my goodness! I, too, will go “on the record” to express my thanks that “off the record” is restored. I am amazed at your ability to stay calm….I would have been freaking out a little more obviously,I think! Kudos to you and WordPress for getting us all back on track. I also agree with Aviva – your space is a reflection space, and I can’t imagine losing that kind of body of work. Welcome back! In terms of back up, I keep most of my stuff web-based at this and back up to an external drive regularly (though perhaps that needs to be more regularly).


  3. I missed you, Doug! I figured that you had scheduled the post incorrectly. Because I read in the WordPress app, rather than going to your blog directly, I didn’t get a message saying the blog was down.
    Welcome back!


  4. Welcome back and I am glad that you are skipping now in time for Thanksgiving! I would definitely need my keyboard for such an issue, being “more of a keyboard” person too. If this happens to me, I will stay calm now… maybe🙂


  5. Thank goodness this was easily resolved. I was enjoying the long weekend so wasn’t reading blogs for a few days. I would have thought the Internet was broken if I had looked for your blog and it wasn’t there.


Leave a Reply

