Whatever happened to …

… dominoes?

I haven’t thought about these or even seen them in years. 

I suppose that I could somehow make this fit into a suggestion for making in the classroom.

After all, who doesn’t have 3,242 dominoes at the ready for such a purpose.  I checked the Walmart site and you can buy a classic set of 28 dominoes for $29.98.  So, do the math before approaching your principal.

I can remember playing the game as it’s intended as a kid.

I also remember the big setups for television to start an activity with the knocking over of the first domino and then it cascades into knocking down the rest.  I was always impressed the proper positioning of the dominoes allowed them to actually climb a hill.

But, this video puts it over the top for me.

It’s labelled a “Fail” but it certainly would surpass anything that I ever dreamed of.

So, …

  • does anyone play dominoes anymore?  I can remember watching people play on the Danforth when I lived in Toronto.
  • have you ever “made” something with dominoes?
  • do you still own a set?

Do you have an idea or thought that would be appropriate for my “Whatever happened to … ” series of blog posts?

Please visit this Padlet and add your idea.  I’d love for it to be an inspiration for a post!

4 thoughts on “Whatever happened to …

  1. David Garlick says:

    Kids at W.D. Lowe played dominoes every day at lunch. The games got quite raucous (in a good way) as they’d slap the tiles down onto the table. It became something of a spectator sport each day and it was one of my favourite stops during lunchtime supervision! This was at the turn of the century.

    The game didn’t move over to Forster when Lowe closed. I wonder if it died with the school or moved to one of the other schools the kids moved to at that time? Maybe Herman or Kennedy or Riverside?

    Like

  2. Thanks, Dave. One of the things I remember from the domino players is that they were very good and handled them so easily. Lots of quick thinking and calculations as well.

    Like

  3. I’ve used dominoes with children from JK-Grade 6. Like David, I had kids that played the game at lunch, but others, that used the tiles for counting, adding, subitizing, and place value during class time. Does this count as repurposing the game?🙂

    Aviva

    P.S. I don’t know if subitizing is a real word, but I like the sound of it.🙂

    Like

  4. Kristi Keery Bishop says:

    I love dominos! My family has fierce dominos battles (& scrabble, pit, muggins battles) at the cottage every summer. I’ve used them in school too in various math games with primary and junior students. And while the quality is not great, you can buy sets at the dollar store…principals are a little more agreeable to class set purchases there than the $29.98 versions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

