Beens’ challenges

It was a comment to a recent post here that took me on a bit of a fishing expedition.  I mean fishing as in good, not phishing as in bad.

The comment was from Peter Beens and apparently he liked the concept of the string manipulation suggestion that I had suggested.

In the best interests of research, I decided to check out the link.  Indeed, he had included the essence of the problem I had proposed – he had rewritten it to be simpler to use in class and had redacted by suggestions for solution.  (Probably a good idea)  The image didn’t come across but I’m sure that will get corrected when the problem is revisited.

So, as I am always tempted, the question isn’t “I’m glad I’m in there?”; it’s “what else is there?”

I backed off the direct link to the string problem and found a big list of challenges.

It’s a collection of good stuff.  It also supports my theory that computer science textbooks aren’t necessarily the best place to go to look for interesting and engaging problems.  More often, it’s something that just tweaks the interest of the teacher and then passed along to students.  It’s always great when people like Peter put them together in one place and make them available for all.

You can check out the list of challenges here.

I’m sure that computer science teachers will be interested in bookmarking this resource.  

I’m equally sure that non-computer science teachers will get a kick from understanding just what students are capable of doing when you let them and their programming skills loose on the keyboard.

One thought on “Beens’ challenges

  1. pbeens says:

    Thanks Doug! Indeed, the image had been fixed by the time your post was published. It was a permissions problem — the image is in Google Drive and was not made public. This happens to me and my students quite often when using Google Sites and Drive. The image will appear for yourself, because you “own” the image but not for others unless the image has been made public. It’s a lesson I constantly have to remind myself about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

