Simcoe or Civic

Or Regatta Day or Saskatchewan Day or British Columbia Day or Natal Day or New Brunswick Day or Colonel By Day or Heritage Day or Joseph Brant Day or Benjamin Vaughan Day. Thanks StatuatoryHolidays.com.

My mom used to just call it the August long weekend.  Look at the notifications I received Sunday morning. (ignore the birthday)

Having gone to university in Toronto, I’m guessing that’s where I first heard the term “Simcoe Day”.  It made sense since I can’t think of too many places that don’t have a Simcoe Street.  Plus, when you read John Graves Simcoe’s biography, it does seem appropriate that a holiday would be named in his honour.

Except the first Monday in August is not a public holiday.  Now, being a teacher, it never was a big deal.  We’re on summer holidays anyway.  But, with children who have other jobs, it’s a curiosity for me.

My research led me to:

https://www.labour.gov.on.ca/english/es/tools/esworkbook/publicholiday.php

But it is a Civic Holiday.  

There actually were a few surprises to me about holidays in Ontario.  There are only nine.  If you’d asked me straight out, I would have said that there was a public holiday in every month of the year.  And, I would have been wrong.

So, best wishes for a relaxing day whether it be Simcoe Day or the August Civic Holiday.

Leave a Reply

