Boring? I’ll take it

On Thursday, the latest release of Ubuntu was made available for installation.  I was excited – I always like upgrades and the new features that come along – and was kind of disappointed that I didn’t get the announcement that it was available for me when I loaded the Software Updater.  So, I was going to force the upgrade after looking for and finding this article.  In the meantime, I did look to see just what a Xerus was, as in Xenial Xerus.  (I also had to look up Xenial)

How to Upgrade from Ubuntu 15.10 to Ubuntu 16.04 on Desktop and Server Editions

But doing so would have to wait until after breakfast.  When I returned to my computer, there was indeed an announcement that I could upgrade on the spot.  Thank you Waterloo CS server.

 

You bet!  I clicked the “Go ahead” button and figured to spend the day watching the download crawl with the really slow internet access that I have here.  Off the dog and I went for our morning walk.  I was pleasantly surprised that the download was complete when we came back.  It was actually raining a bit so we didn’t do our full walk.

Off the installation went; I was doing other things and there were a couple of prompts to answer including a prompt to change grub but the old one worked nicely as a switcher from Ubuntu to Windows 10 so I left it along.  After the installation, a reboot and I was good to go.  I’d been reading about the upgrade features all along.

What’s New in Ubuntu 16.04

Since 16.04 is an LTS release (long term support), the wisdom was that it would be pretty conservative in features.  To be honest, there really wasn’t much to be excited about as an end user.  Some people were excited about the ability to move the Launcher on the screen.  I figured that if I wanted a Mac look, I’d just use a Mac.  I like my screen to display as much information from top to bottom as it can so having it on the side of the screen and hiding continues to work fine for me.

For the most part, I think it’s just business as usual – quick to load – quick to run – and it doesn’t kick the system fan into overdrive like Windows 10 does.  

There was a time where I’d do my best to break the system but I was happy with things before the upgrade and was happy afterwards.  This article put it into perspective.

Has Ubuntu become a boring distribution?

I don’t know.  Maybe it has.  But, if boring means a quick, responsive, and secure system, I’ll take it any day.

And yet, the geeky in me will probably tweak things here and there.   I have Unity Tweak and the Tweak Tool installed for that.  Also bookmarked are a couple of great looking articles.

Things To Do After Installing Ubuntu 16.04

16 Things To Do After Installing Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

That should keep me busy tweaking and testing this weekend.

Leave a Reply

