Is that a big number?

Let me see here.

According to my step counter, yesterday I had 14,157 steps.  According to my data driven dog, he had 28,314.  -ish.

This translates into 8.1 km.

While the numbers tell the same story of how I spent part of my day, one is certainly bigger than the other.  It’s interesting to look at it from two different lenses.  A third number is that it took 1 hr 57 minutes or 117 minutes.  It could have been quicker had we not made so many stops along the way.

Three sets of numbers.  Are they big?

The website Is That A Big Number helps put it into perspective.  I love this philosophical descriptor.

An optimist will tell you the glass is half-full; the pessimist, half-empty; and the engineer will tell you the glass is twice the size it needs to be

Actually, the page is worth reloading just to see the random “numbers” quote generated each time.

If you like numbers, check out the blog entries and the related stories when you visit the site but absolutely “run your number” to see how big it is.  14,157 steps?  Let’s see.

With the results…

This utility will easily make you the queen/king of numeric trivia.  No question about it.  

Once I started, I couldn’t stop.  (Except to press the Publish Post button)

And of course, all the geeky goodness comes to the answer to this question.

One thought on “Is that a big number?

  1. I feel as though this website could play a role in a math classroom: exploring the big idea of “big numbers” and number sense in general. I see some potential for critical thinking. I’m not sure what exactly this would look like, but I feel as though something is possible. Curious to hear what others think.

    Aviva

    Like

Leave a Reply

