It’s just a storage drive

Well, actually, my iPad is much more but it turns out that it can be much more than that.  I just hadn’t used it that way.

Here’s my own personal story of discovery.

It started when I was writing the post “What does the fox say?“.  I had taken a screen capture and was about to bring it into the post I was creating.

I had just forgotten about where I was. 

iPad owners know that if you plug your device into a Macintosh or Windows computer, it launches the iTunes or iPhoto applications.  (Which, by my terms of use are the most unintuitive piece of software.  Friends have suggested alternatives!).  The applications are there to let you view your media and play it.  Increasingly, iTunes seems to be an advertising program for further Apple services.  Why can’t the default view be the media on the device instead of something for sale on the store?  Rhetorical, I know.  We know the answer.

I never plug my iPad into this PC.  I did when I first got the computer to transfer media when it ran Windows 7 but it never charged the iPad.  Why?  “Why Doesn’t an iPad Charge When Connected to a Computer?”  It just isn’t an issue; I typically use the USB charger that came with the iPad and everything works well.

Now, I don’t know why but I was writing the post and decided to use the screen capture image.  I’m writing the post using Scribefire in a Firefox tab.  It’s how I write most of the posts.  Out of habit, I plugged the iPad into the computer and was going to transfer the file.  The second I did that, I could have done a face whack.  There’s no iTunes or iPhoto for Linux so how am I going to do this?  Probably like I would any other time – go to the iPad, find the picture and email it to myself.  As I reached for the iPad, I stopped in my tracks.

Two things happened.

First the iPad was displaying the green icon indicating that it was charging.

As I turned back to the computer, I noticed that the Launcher had an icon wiggling.

Son of a gun if it hadn’t mounted the iPad as an external device.  It was sitting right over the Windows 10 icon which is a permanently mounted device.  Does this mean I can just get in and explore? 

I try and … nothing.

But, it’s a good nothing.  I shouldn’t be able to just start exploring.  The iPad was locked.  So, I unlocked it with no idea of what I might find. 

What I found was interesting.  I now had access to a completely visible file structure.

If you’ve ever poked around a hard drive, you’ll recognize or guess what might be in those folders.  Of course, what I’m looking for is in the DCIM folder.  I quickly located the image that I wanted, saved it to my desktop, and brought it into the post.  I feel good.  Maybe this computer stuff is starting to “take”.

But then I started to poke around everwhere to see all kinds of stuff that I guess Apple doesn’t want you seeing when you’re navigating with iTunes. 

Ubuntu was good enough to suggest, as you’ll see in the top right, that I could use Rhythmbox to play the music and Shotwell for the images.  I’ll admit; I was really excited.  It was a whole new world for the geeky me to explore.  I took advantage of it to feed the inner me need to learn.  Oh, and play some music just because I could.

Normally, at this part of any blog post, I’m looking for something interesting to wrap it up.  I’m stumped.  It’s probably no big deal to the majority of blog readers, I’m sure. 

For me, it was a great moment.  By documenting it here, am I doing the visible thinking thing?  Let’s run with that as this post concludes.

Leave a Reply

