The holidays

School districts have the last day of school before break at various times.  I think the most popular date was last Friday but I know of at least one friend who has today as the last day before kicking back.  Regardless of when it is, enjoy.

I always had a holiday tradition.  I got sick.

I could set my calendar by it.

According to my wife, it was the hours that I kept.  As a new teacher, I used to get to work shortly after 6am and would go home after football practice or a game or the computer club.  A quick meal and it was off to mark or do preparation.  I was the laughing stock of the office because I used to leave work with my briefcase and a banker’s box full of stuff daily.  I still remember my first Christmas Break as a new teacher.  I had just left the building and the vice-principal must have seen me out of the front window.  He came out and grabbed my banker’s box and told me I could claim it in the office in the new year.

Later, as a consultant, I always believed in the importance of continuing professional learning. I would offer 1-3 sessions a week in the highly desirable 4-6pm timeslot.  I still think it’s a high tribute to those in the profession that would show up over and over again during those hours when there were a million other things that they could be doing.

I survived because I had become used to eating microwaved leftovers!

Anyway, enough about me.  All this lead-in is to a wonderful sketchnote from my friend Sylvia Duckworth.  If you haven’t seen it yet, here it is in all its glory.

It’s great advice and I know that anyone who is reading this blog when they should be enjoying the holidays needs to pay attention to her advice. (unless you’re doing #10)

My dog is all over #2.

Make sure that you check out all of her wonderful offerings here.

And, to Sylvia, thanks so much for keeping up the production of your great things.  I’m still working on my skills from your presentation at the BIT Conference.  I hope someday to have something created that’s ready for public sharing!

3 thoughts on “The holidays

  1. Andrew Forgrave says:

    In order, so far: 12, 9, 1, 10, 8, 6.
    Saw The Force Awakens last night.
    Next up 4, 2, 5, 7.
    Still in the works: 3 & 11.

    Like

Leave a Reply

