I learned that…

…from my daily readings.

I had a question thrown at me this morning after I posted an article I was reading

Doug @dougpete did you read this article?”

In fact, yes, I did.  I read all of them.

When I’m reading, I’m looking for stories that:

  • solve an immediate problem
  • solve a problem that I think I might have in the future
  • provide information about technology that I own
  • provide information about technology that I might own some day
  • are of interest in computer science
  • are of interest in education in general
  • just strike my fancy

In this case, I had an immediate problem.  I had followed the suggestion to upgrade my iPad to iOS 9.2 on Apple’s recommendation and some of my applications were either crashing, locking up, or just not launching.  If you’re a use of Apple technology, you know how frustrating that can be – it claims to “just work”.  There is little help diagnosing problems and usually the results come from an upgrade to the application.  Apple is notorious around here for breaking things with upgrades.  It’s to the benefit of the developers that they eventually understand the new upgrade, modify and release a new version of their code, and life goes on.  So, I was looking to see if others were having problems and if there was a solution.

I should also reiterate that I have Diigo as my default search engine.  Using Packrati.us, any Twitter message with a link it in gets tucked away in my Diigo account.  Over the years, it’s become fairly big and very helpful.  So, I will send articles of interest with their URL to my timeline, knowing that they’ll eventually end up in Diigo.  When I search Diigo, unlike a regular search engine, I’ve found results that I’ve already read and deemed worthy enough to tuck away.  It’s searching as I know it.

So, back to reading.  Yes, I read the stories.  Perhaps not entirely digesting them on first bite because some take some time to do some digging and experimentation.  One such story was this one “21 Google Maps Tricks You Need to Try“.  Some of them I knew; others helped me kill an hour experimenting.  This one was completely new to me.  Google Maps Tips 7: Access the Google Earth ‘God View’.  I knew of the integration of Google Earth with Google Maps but didn’t realize all the tilt and zoom fun.

All with this one little button when you activate Google Earth from Google Maps.

So, I “went” out to Howard Avenue and looked north.  Normally, I’d be looking down on the area.  Instead, this time, I tilted the view so that I could see downtown Windsor and downtown Detroit in the distance.

I decided to move in for a closer look.  Wait for the data to come across and the buildings in downtown Windsor and downtown Detroit pop into place.

There’s Caesar’s Windsor, the Chrysler Building, Renaissance Centre, Ponobscott Building, Comerica Park, Ford Field, …  I’ve done flyovers and looked “down” on these buildings before but this gave me a whole different experience.

It was so impressive.

Without my daily readings, I might never have know how to do this.  Now, I’m addicted and off to scope out other world locations from a new point of view.

It might be old news to you but it was new and inspirational for me.

Don’t stop me now; I’m learning.

 

2 thoughts on “I learned that…

Leave a Reply

