Flipping learning – #FlipboardEDU

There’s a concept that has been making the rounds lately – FlipboardEDU.  I was going to use the adjective “new” but great educators have been using the concepts for a long time now, both with Flipboard and other curating tools.  Personally, I started with Zite which is now part of Flipboard.

Follow the hashtag #flipboardedu.

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that Flipboard is one of my favourite stops for morning reading.  By pulling together topics and other things in a manner that I find “strategic” for me, I’m able to pack just an incredible amount of learning into the time spent with my morning coffee. I’m constantly finding new resources and/or fine tuning my current collection for the best results.

Here’s a bit of it.

Now, I’m not too proud to show that I follow myself too!  Even paranoids have enemies. It’s actually a nice way to follow up on stories that I read on the iPad but I need to actually sit down at a computer to try things out.  Whatever works, right?

What continually impresses me is how effortless the process is.  I’ll also share some of the reading that I do to Twitter and, as I’ve mentioned before, it all trickles back to being bookmarked to my Diigo account.

As I was looking at things today in the context of FlipboardEDU, I really see the value.  My learning is richer because of the boards, topics, people, and lists that I follow.

Why not use it for more than that?

Ideas like:

  • Creating a Flipboard of articles for a particular subject area and make it available for students as they work.  They can spend less time finding things and more time on task actually using it
  • Creating a Flipboard of articles for that topic for yourself – make it private – and fill it with “teacher-type” resources to support the classroom teaching and activities
  • Creating a Flipboard of media articles where your school is in the news and make a link to it on your school or class website/wiki
  • Creating a Flipboard of tips and tricks to master a task so that all a student has to do is access the Flipboard to get answers
  • Creating a Flipboard of homework assignments and answers?  Flip a picture of the answer or solution for completeness
  • Creating a Flipboard of photos from around the school or taken while on field trips.  Nothing speaks louder than pictures.  Or speaking of speaking, add audio tracks and movies to this or any Flipboard you’re creating.  You’ll have an incredible resource for open house or Grade 8 night or …
  • Running a conference or an EdCamp?  Flip resources, pictures, Twitter messages into one place
  • Flip a Twitter chat into one document by searching the hashtag.  I know that many progressive boards are using the medium to bring their learning together.  #peel21st comes to mind.  Why not archive it and show it off to demonstrate learning or to engage new people to join in?
  • Create a Twitter list of staff members and then a Flipboard devoted to following that list to stay in touch with everyone’s learning
  • Actually create a Twitter list of anyone dealing with your school (teachers, parents, community, students) and have all the results sitting in one spot

I’m sure that you can come up with more ideas once things get rolling.

On the Flipboard site, there’s a great article about the how-to if you’re intrigued “Enhance Your Class Magazines with Flipboard’s Compose Feature“.

Much of this can be accomplished within the Flipboard application itself but there are times when you find a resource elsewhere.  Flipboard has you covered there “build & SHARE your Flipboard“.  I’ve got the bookmarklet ready to go in every browser that I use.  And, to see what I’m collecting, it’s just a matter of clicking the Flipboard link that you see to the right to get to a list of my public magazines.

I know that, for some, it will be “ok, here’s yet another tool” and to a certain extent that’s true.  But in the big fire hose that’s the internet, making information useful and immediate makes at least investigating worth your time to see if the concept fits your needs.

3 thoughts on “Flipping learning – #FlipboardEDU

  1. This sounds really interesting, Doug! As I read through your post, I think about the Pinterest Boards that I used to make for my Grade 5’s and 6’s to support inquiry. I also think about the Nkwiry collections I made when I had Grade 1. Maybe Flipboard could become a similar option, but with other possibilities as well. Working in a school with 1:1 iPads in the junior/intermediate grades could definitely make FlipboardEDU a real possibility for our students.

    Aviva

    Like

  2. Yes! Did you want to just do my Thursday morning workshop at #BIT15? So much great info here, and I will be sharing this post in my workshop. I do many of the things you”ve suggested. I’m very excited to note that #digiwrimo is using Flipboard to curate resources this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

