Is this really me?

I have had this tab open in my browser since the recent Federal election because I found it oddly engaging.

I ran into it because of one of the channel coverages and I can’t remember which one so I apologize for not knowing exactly where I first saw it.  All of the channels had their own engaging supporting segments about voting patterns but one of them had this fellow from Environics Analytics.  According to him, his firm had sliced the Canadian demographic into 68 different types and was using that to talk about voting trends.

So, I had to check out my current location.  The results really didn’t describe me but I could see it fitting others in a nearby subdivision.  So, I guess the numbers would dwarf this single person family in the realm of statistics.  It is a fairly big subdivision, after all.  Then, as I tend to do, I started to wonder.

As a student, I lived in five or six different places going to university, four different places once I got my job, and then of course, my home town.  I decided to track the communities where I used to live.  It was quite interesting.  Here’s where I lived while attending the Faculty of Education at the University of Toronto.

Things have certainly changed since I lived there, if the description is accurate.  At the time, I was a poor university student renting a refurb over top of a friend’s parent’s garage.  My recollection of the neighbourhood was of people who were hard working single and dual income families.  I don’t recall many who would have gone to university but, of course, I didn’t meet everyone!

The whole exercise was interesting and I could see using the tools in a bunch of educational settings, including digital tool strategies.  All that you have to do is enter the desired Postal Code into Environics’ Prizm tool, let it do the analysing, and then ponder the results.  What a starting point for a discussion.

Now, lest you be impressed that I could remember all the postal codes of places that I’ve lived, I couldn’t.  But, I sure knew how to find them.

So, the two tools that I used were:

I guess the days of predicting winners by looking at candidates’ signs on lawns may be gone!  As a dog walker, I know that on our road there were six orange signs, one red sign, and two blue signs.  We did end up electing a NDP candidate.

It’s a website worth poking around for lots of things digital, analytical, and applied mathematics.  From the home page, you might be interested in comparing the big Canadian cities in the section “What if they were 100 people?”.  Here’s the resulting infographic for Toronto.

If nothing else, it goes a long way to answering the question “Where does anyone ever use this?”

2 thoughts on “Is this really me?

  1. Thanks for the remind, Doug. I used these tools when shopping for a new home. The stat that made me decide? The very high number of single mothers living in detached dwellings in the neighbourhood. I thought: if they think it’s a great place to live, everyone else should, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

