A new look

Not for this blog.  I did that over a week ago.  I decided to go from the dark blackish look to something bright and modern looking.  So, that’s what you’re dealing with today.  I like the idea of changing the look every now and again.  I find it refreshing to view and a little motivating to make me want to keep writing.  Most blogging platforms make it easy; just pick and customize a new theme and apply it.  Voila!

The title from this post actually came from a Twitter message from @westernulibsEDU.

Ever the learner, I was curious to see what makes a teacher-librarian do a “happy dance”.

Well, a book will do it, I guess!  It was timely; I’d been thinking about programming languages and those memories brought back thoughts of the Hypo programming language.  When I was hired at my first school, that was the language that was used in Grade 10.  Certainly, it wasn’t on the list when one attends the Faculty of Education at the University of Toronto but moving to southwestern Ontario moves you into the sphere of influence from the then University of Western Ontario.  John Walsh, from their Education Faculty, had co-authored a book called “Informatics: An Introduction to Data Processing“.  That’s what I had to deal with and so had to learn this new language along with everything else a new teacher does.  But, do you think I could find it?  I ended up finding the book listed in an old copy of Circular 14 (the law of the textbook) and supposedly could buy it on Amazon here.

Computer Studies teachers won’t recognize the cover.  If I recall correctly, it was black and blue and was inspired by a circuit board.  I haven’t seen a copy in years.

So, it was nice memories and I poked about at the big collection of Circular 14s (103) which were stored on the Internet Archive.  The list goes on and on.  I’m sure that it would be fascinating reading for educational historians!  The oldest copy is dated 1887.

And yet, there was something oddly strange about it. 

I couldn’t quite put my finger on it until I saw a little popup bubble in the top right corner of the screen. 

I was looking at their new look.  You could Exit this view and return to the Classic Internet archive. Did they steal the idea from Tim Horton’s or was it the other way around or was it just a strange coincidence?  I had to see.

This felt like an old pair of shoes.  This was the Internet Archive that I’d become familiar to. 

Flipping back and forth (or scrolling up and down now that I’ve done a couple of screen captures) reveals that the new look is indeed fresher and more engaging.

Had it not been for Denise’s Twitter message, I might not have known the difference for quite a while until I went looking for something.  By then, the Classic look might be just a memory.  So, a tip of the hat to her happy dance and it’s another win for incidental learning.  There’s nothing better.

One thought on “A new look

Leave a Reply

