Analysing Titles

Who doesn’t want to get credibility and increased readership for their blog?  In order for this to happen, you’ve got to get people actually to read your blog.

The first thing that people see is the title to your blog.

If it’s something that looks like this “My Thoughts”, I know that I’m not liable to click through and read things.  I’m a little more likely if it’s something like “10 Ways to Be a Better Person” although I have to be careful about click-bait in these days of blogging.  Over the top, for me, is a title that accurately describes the content but also has a bit of a tease in it to make me curious enough to read it.

I think that’s what I do when I write here.  Often, I’ll use a tentative title when I start and then revise it before publishing.  Other times, I’ll wait until the post is complete before creating the title.

I’ve been playing around with “Headline Analyzer” from CoSchedule to see if it helps me with my own titles.  The concept is simple enough – give it a title to a blog post and it analyses it in so many ways.

So, I thought I’d share some of the results.

“This Week in Ontario Edublogs”

Part of the results appear here.  You’ve got to check out the complete set of results to fully appreciate what you’re getting.

There was a time when I’d kill to get a B+ in any writing course.

How did I do this past week?

“Analysing Titles” – C-

“OTR Links 09/12/2015” – C-

“63 Years and Counting” – B+

“Not Participating” – B+

“Great Ontario Resources” – C-

“Assumptions” – C-

At least I didn’t fail any.

It looks like I’ve got some work to do!

5 thoughts on “Analysing Titles

  1. I think we use similar strategies when creating our blog post titles, and I’ll agree, that some do come easier than others. I’m curious to try out this title analyzer on some of my blog titles. I wonder how I’d do.

    Despite the marks Doug, I’ll give you some feedback here: your titles always intrigue me enough to click on the link and read the post. That should mean something … right?

    Aviva

    Like

  2. I’m with Aviva (and obviously part of the early Sunday morning club). I always try and think about my titles. I’m really intrigued by the categories it’s looking for. How do you evaluate emotion in a title?

    Like

  3. Titles are hard. I’ve changed mine several times during the writing of some posts. Like you I don’t settle on one until I’m done writing though. My last four titles received 2 B+ and 2 C-. So I have a lot of work to do as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

