This Week in Ontario Edublogs

OK, second try at this post.  This morning, I was literally half way through it and decided to sit back and proofread.  I was booted in Windows 10 at the time and it decided that it was time to reboot to install some sort of upgrade.  I watched in horror as the message “Don’t turn off your computer” came on and my computer rebooted.  It did install some updates but after I allowed it to reboot and finish doing what it was doing, I booted into Ubuntu.  I know I’m good to go now.  Just a question – who decides that a reboot at 8:30 in the morning is necessary when there’s stuff open on the computer? 

Anyway….it’s back to school this week and I’m impressed that Ontario Edubloggers are still online and sharing their thoughts.  What a great tribute.  Fortunately, the weather is cooler today to help the cause.  It was 23 degrees cooler this morning than yesterday and the dog and I could see our breaths as we were walking.  The town grass cutter was wearing a winter coat.  Uh oh. 

Here’s some of what I read this week.

=====

Electronic Access Available ~ Resilience Interventions for Youth in Diverse Populations

I get a kick from reading the titles added to the Education library at Western University.  If you’re a teacher-librarian, principal, board office consultant, superintendent or someone with a budget, this would be a good follow to get suggestions for what to add to your professional library.

For example, Denise Horoky just blogged about this resource.

=====

I Think I Found My New Box of Hugs

What a great reality post from Kristi Keery Bishop.  She seems obsessed with bus duties but managed to step back and take care of what’s really important in schools.  A lesson for all principals, vice-principals, and those who aspire to this should read:

=====

Gamify Your Classroom With Mettles

You may not be thinking it now but there comes a time when Learning Skills and Work Habits need commenting on.  It’s all part of the big picture for report cards.  How are you tracking them?

Brian Aspinall has written and blogs about his project, Edmettle.  In itself, it’s a unique program but he’s put a spin to it talking about using it for a bit of gamification. 

You know you’re going to have to do them; it’s the start of the year; why not take a look at Brian’s program.

Perhaps if enough people ask, he’ll even do a webinar about how to use it.

 

=====

The Other Side Of Sharing

I didn’t know what Aviva Dunsiger was up to with the title of her post so I followed it for a read.  I’ve read it three or four times now and I don’t know if I’m getting her intention or not.  Certainly, we don’t live in a perfect world and we all live in our own different realities.  Sometimes good; sometimes not so good.

So, I take issue with even the thought that sharing could be discouraging.  If anyone sees something and interprets it that way, maybe they’re in the wrong business.  I would question someone who doesn’t believe that, no matter what they’re doing, they could do better. 

Without sharing, you’re locked in your own little world and I would suggest have to really scratch for ideas and inspiration to try something new.  Even in the trying though, you need to remind yourself that it’s not a competition.  You’re doing it for your professional growth and for communication, looking for feedback and further inspiration.  If it ever gets to be a spitting match, then it’s time to pack it in.

(I’m sure that Aviva will let me know, in her nice way, if I’m completely off mark here…)

 

=====

‘Twas the night before school …

I enjoyed reading this post from Jessica Weber.  The questions she’s asking herself in the opening paragraph were dancing through the minds of teachers everywhere!  It’s part of what keeps you on edge and makes you the best teacher you can be.

I’d be really worried if those questions weren’t taking place!

And, although Jessica confesses to being in her ninth year of teaching, I’m sure that there are those in their 30th year who feel exactly the same.

 

=====

It’s all been done before…but you did it better last time, Canada

Amid the excitement of back to school is the shadow of what’s happening overseas.

The enormity of the situation weighs heavily on anyone with a conscience.  Anna Bartosik opens her soul to her thoughts about recent events.  The discussion goes even further in the comments.  Reading this might be helpful to address the questions that are bound to arise in the classroom.

There is nothing like numbers to help tell the true story.

Syrian refugees: Which countries welcome them, which don’t

=====

I hope that you’re inspired to take the time to click through and read all of these inspiring posts from Ontario Edubloggers if you haven’t already.  May this first Friday go quickly for you and I wish everyone a relaxing weekend.

3 thoughts on “This Week in Ontario Edublogs

  1. Doug, I’m sorry to hear about your blog post problems! Thanks for writing this post again. I love reading your thinking about different blogs.

    As for my own post, I totally agree with you about the value in sharing. I think what I was getting at is that it’s hard when what we see shared are all of the wonderful things that worked. Then, when most of what we try, doesn’t work, it’s easy to feel discouraged. It’s easy to question ourselves. Maybe we need to share more of the successes and failures to show that not everything is a “pretty picture” and sometimes it takes time to get there. I think most of us, myself included, understand this in theory, but during challenging times, I think we (me too!!) can use a reminder.

    Thanks again, Doug! Hope this comment helped clarify things a bit!
    Aviva

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doug, thank you for keeping the conversation about the refugee crisis going. It has come up again in my class this week in an unexpected way. More to tell in another blog post.

    Thank you for recognizing Ontario educators. I admire your balanced yet diverse range of topics and your thoughtful reflections. I hope you hear this often enough to continue sharing with your community. Your voice casts a larger net than you think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

