This Week in Ontario Edublogs

For many, this is the first day of the summer vacation.  Congratulations.  I hope that you’re kicking back and reading this with a coffee about 10am.  Here are some interesting posts from around the province I read this past week.


What social media are you on and what does it say about you?

How times have changed.  I can’t even picture my mother or father sitting in on a job interview.  After all, in the good old days, you went to the interview.  The interview didn’t come to you.

Check out Jennifer Casa-Todd’s post as she reveals how modern technology brought the interview into her house.  I can completely empathize with her struggle balancing teacher and parent.


Throwing Out Grades Isn’t a New Concept #ttog

I had to smile at Brian Aspinall’s post and thoughts about grades.  It reminded me of the legend that I was made aware of my first year teaching.  The folklore was this teacher never marked anything and didn’t keep a mark book.  When it was time to enter marks, he called each student to stand in front of him – he looked them over and then wrote down a number.  Truth or no truth?  Yanking the strings of a first year teacher?  I’m not sure but I enjoy remembering it.

Once Brian gets rolling in the post, he draws an interesting parallel between Physical Education and Mathematics.

He asks – why should the assessment be different?


Summer – My Time to Learn

Despite what you might read in these times of teacher bashing, summer time for teachers isn’t eight weeks of sun bathing.  It’s a time for professional work and professional learning at a pace that is self-determined.

In this post, Nicole Beuckelare shares what her summer priorities will be.

I hope that she enjoys success with her goals and, when you read her post, you’ll know why we’ll all benefit from her learning.


Making it work

I really enjoy reading posts like this.  It’s humbling and motivating to realize that, despite whatever set of skills I may have, there are others that have more.  For the eternal learner, it’s like waving a red flag in front of a bull.

Helen DeWaard shows some of her learning in this post.

I’ve always thought that everyone should build on their skill set.  I remember computer contact meetings where there would always be a sharing of what folks or others in their schools had been doing.  Every little bit builds more confidence and abilities.  Before long, you look at the mass of learning and you have a pretty decent portfolio of skills.


Puzzling

I’ll confess, the title sucked me in.  I like a good puzzle and James Hewett’s opening link takes you to a puzzle that’s been tossed around quite a bit lately.  But, what caught my attention was the list of iPad applications that he’s asked the students not to delete.

You’ll have to visit his post to see the entire list.  It’s always interesting to see the collection that people use in the classroom.

It’s great to see Green Screen on the list – so much can be done with that application in so many differing areas.


Camera Case & Pads of Paper Weigh In

The teacher part of this 3 Act lesson from Kyle Pearce sounds absolutely deadly.

But, once you get past that and get to the actual activity, it sounds like a great deal of fun and you can certainly see how engaging it would be for students.  I really like the questions that he poses to extend the learning.


Liking life

This quote from Paul Cornies’ blog attributed to Maya Angelou is an absolute feel-good thought to help close off the school year.

You’ve got to feel good about yourself after reading that.


Such an inspiring collection of learning, thinking, and sharing again this week.  Please find the time to click through and support these bloggers.  You can check out the entire collection here and certainly add yourself using the form if you’re not already on the list.

Have a wonderful summer.

One thought on “This Week in Ontario Edublogs

Leave a Reply

