Is It Really That Important?

The other day, I had to drive into the city to meet some friends for a coffee.

I was stopped at a red light on a four lane road.  (Walker Road, if you know the city).

I looked to my right to see the cross traffic and noticed that there was a young lady in the car next to me and she was looking down.  Odd, then it occurred to me – she’s not napping, she’s texting.  I suppose that she wasn’t causing danger at the moment but, in the back of my mind, I seem to recall reading of a person who got a ticket for distracted driving while doing the same thing at another red light.  The argument was that the driver wasn’t in motion but that didn’t pan out.

In fact, the Ministry of Transportation has an entire page devoted to distracted driving.

Distracted Driving

The page examines the topic in great detail.

Anyway, the light turned green and both of us went through the intersection at roughly the same speed.  The difference?  I was watching the road; out of the corner of my eye, I noticed that she was still looking down.  I backed off; I didn’t want to get caught in case she drifted into my lane.

I was about to but the driver behind her beat me to it and laid on the horn.  Her neck snapped up and I think she must have felt a twinge of guilt as she hit the gas and flew away from us.

I know that we’re not perfect but to do something like this that has been proven unsafe over and over just blows my mind.

It just serves as a reminder to keep your eyes open and be aware of everything around you.

2 thoughts on “Is It Really That Important?

  1. Ronnie and I debate the use of mobile phones because laws in our countries are very different. In Texas he says he is allowed to touch the phone if he is stopped at a traffic light while in Western Australia a driver of a vehicle must not use a mobile phone while the vehicle is moving, or is stationary but not parked. i.e. This means we can’t touch the phone at traffic lights or pull off the side of the road to use. It can only be used if parked or if you answer calls via hands free.

    If you’re caught touching a mobile phone here it is a $400 fine and 3 demerit points. If you lose 12 demerit points in 3 years you lose your license. We have plain clothes police on motor bikes which patrol watching for any one using mobile devices. The strict penalties were brought in due to car accidents and deaths caused by using mobile phones.

    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

