This Post Has 339 Words

Except for the faithful that have this blog and its posts delivered by email, followed or RSS, visitors are attracted by a good title.

I do spend considerable time trying to come up with the perfect title and yet, unfortunately, only find it after the post goes live and I’m talking about it with others.  Oh well.

Sometimes, I write the title first and then blog.  I find that this keeps me on track and focussed on the topic.  It works well.

Other times I write the blog content first and, from there, get the inspiration for the title.  When I do this, I find that I get a better title for the blog.

No matter what, I create the post locally and then upload it to WordPress.  I’ll visit the post because I am both obsessive and compulsive.  I want to make sure that the images get uploaded and that any formatting is preserved.  I also really appreciate the proofreading utility that WordPress provides although I do regularly find ways to screw up that it doesn’t catch.

But, it’s the title that’s the main draw to the post.  It was the same thing in high school when writing essays or poems or really anything for that matter.  I can still remember my English teacher – “Your title makes or breaks your writing”.

Now, lest this gets too serious because I’m the last person who should ever be giving advice on writing success, the whole point of this post is to give you a morning chuckle.  This link is just too good to not share and post here so that I don’t lose it.

So, again, make sure that you don’t have a mouthful of coffee and head over to “24 Headlines That Should Never Have Been Written“.  Some of them are excellent examples that could find a place in the classroom.  Unfortunately, there are a couple that bring a smile but aren’t appropriate.  However, the tech savvy among you know how to take the good titles and repurpose the content.

3 Replies to “This Post Has 339 Words”

  1. I follow much the same process that you do on a title. I am not as good at staying on focus with the title when I write it first though. Sometimes posts seem to take on a mind of their own and I have to change the title after I finish with the post.

    And for all that my analytics tell me that two thirds on my views come from search engine results. What I see is that the title matters a lot in the first few days a post is us as people see references to it in social media (Twitter, Facebook and Google Plus mostly). After that it is search engine activity which is more based on content and people referencing it for the content. And perhaps that is how it should be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the chuckles (coffee cup was kept down 🙂 ). I find the topic of titles/headlines interesting too 🙂 I can finish a blog post and then get stalled up in publishing it trying to title it appropriately. It can also change a number of times during the writing, as Alfred mentioned also. I have been tempted to post “This post has no title” from time to time 🙂

    I still chuckle about the end of an ad I read once. It was posted by a telemarketing company to attract applicants. It ended with, “No phone calls please”.

    Your title intrigued me today for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

