Seize the Moment

As I write this post, it’s about 5:30am on Wednesday.  I’ve got to get rolling pretty soon and get over to the Convention Centre for the workshop day at Bring IT, Together.

But, opening the drapes demands a quick picture.  The view is so spectacular.

Last night, we had an opening reception and people did make it through the rain.  (Except for Brian Aspinall who apparently was enjoying a late dinner instead of joining us)

The green shirted committee was hard at work pulling things together and everyone was walking about engaged in conversations and exploration.

Cyndie Jacobs found her first but I soon ended up in a conversation with three ladies from “out west”.  We were gabbing about education, online learning, curating web content, innovation, and so on and, quite frankly, I didn’t know who I was talking to!

I took a look at her nametag and it turns out it was Verena Roberts.  We’ve only met online and now it’s face to face.  (See my interview with Verena here.)

I can help but be struck with the conversation.  It was like we’d known each other for years and were just catching up.

We even took a bad selfie.

I think that’s the strong message about what and why we do what we do.

There may have been a time when you just connect with people that you actually know.

Now, “connect” takes on a whole new meaning.  We connect in many ways – physically or virtually – and neither is to the exclusion of the other.  The important message is to do it.  You can’t wait until the moment is correct.

Seize the moment.

I hope that everyone seizes that moment over the next three days.

3 thoughts on “Seize the Moment

  1. I’ve always been amazed at how well I’ve gotten to know people without meeting them, and with how natural that face-to-face meeting always is. Online is like an icebreaker for face to face.

    Sounds like everything’s going well, Doug. Congratulations!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Brandon. Yes, Day 1 went well, but not without its hiccups. I totally agree with your statement about connections. My Fitbit ultimately recorded about 20K steps yesterday for the times that I had it on. Undoubtedly will be more today.

    Like

  3. Doug, love the selfie! Glad you connected with Verena – she is much larger than life and quietly engaging as you now know. Hope your day today is going well. Wish I was there, and plan to be next year.

    Randy

    Like

Leave a Reply

