The Answer is – Nuthin’

The question is “What did you do in school today?”

It was the answer that I gave my parents when they asked.  I can still remember my dad “Those darn teachers – how much are we paying them and you did nothing?”

It was the answer that my kids would give when asked.  At that point, I was a teacher myself so I knew how much they got paid and they still did nothing.

On the other side of the fence, my wife would regularly ask ‘What happened today?”  As only a teacher could, I would leap off onto an excited rant “We did such an elegant program today in class.  It perfectly demonstrated the elements of sequencing, selection, and repetition.”  Then, I’d wake her and continue “I think they really got it.”

Just in time for back to school, there’s a wonderful post on the Huffington Post.  “25 Ways to Ask Your Kids ‘So How Was School Today?’ Without Asking Them ‘So How Was School Today?‘”  There are some absolutely terrific ideas in this post.

1. What was the best thing that happened at school today? (What was the worst thing that happened at school today?)

2. Tell me something that made you laugh today.

3. If you could choose, who would you like to sit by in class? (Who would you NOT want to sit by in class? Why?)

4. Where is the coolest place at the school?

5. …

You’ll have to read the rest of the post to see all 25.

The timing is perfect.  If you’re reading this, put a link to the post on your class blog, wiki, or webpage.  I know it’s too late for that paper newsletter but nobody does that anymore, right?  Going electronic lets your message be immediately responsive.  Anyway, your parents will thank you!  You’ll be getting the messages from school sent home and, once the child starts talking, the parents just need to extend the conversation.

Or, you could put the ideas on the wiki one week at a time.  That would give you 25 weeks of fresh content!

Or, even better, use the post to inspire your own ideas to get the home/school conversation started.

3 Replies to “The Answer is – Nuthin’”

  1. Doug, I’m now going back to leave the comment that I tweeted before. I do love the ideas in here, and actually ask many similar questions in my Daily Shoot Blog Posts — http://missdunsiger.commons.hwdsb.on.ca/category/daily-shoot/ Then parents and students can have a look at our day and see some question prompts that align. For some students, I think the visual is what they need to help them remember.

    And, on a different note, would you believe that I do send home a paper newsletter in addition to posting it on our class blog (along with other more current posts)? I think it’s important to meet parents where they’re at, & not all are online. Mind you, I only send out a paper copy (past the September one) for those that ask for it, but I’d way rather provide a paper option than have parents unable to access the information. I wonder how others feel about this.

    Aviva

    Like

Leave a Reply

