Labelling America

On Canada Day, there was a really nice selection of Canadiana articles to read.  I shared some of them and just enjoyed the rest.  One of the articles that brought a chuckle here was “Here’s What Happens When Americans Try To Label The Country Of Canada“.

Now, I think it’s extremely important to remember the sampling source as you enjoy this.  But it’s still fun to read and feel a bit smug.

But what if the tables were turned?  What happens when Canadians are asked to label US States? 

I was sure that there would be a lot of online quizzes to aid in the research. 

So, I did what any self-respecting digital person would do – I did a Google search and my suspicions were confirmed.  There were all kinds of results.  It makes sense – it would be relatively easy to write and evaluate because the answers would either be right or wrong.

The first one that I got was from Sporcle, and located here.

Now, just a bit of background.  I do recall the mind numbing experience of having to memorize state and province names while in elementary school.  I also recall having to memorize the townships in my county, although if you’re from Huron County, you know that Goderich and Hullett are the only ones that count…

So, I played the quiz and my impressive results are shown below.  I will admit to panicking a bit as I got to 48.  I knew that the last two would be Hawaii and Alaska but they weren’t on the screen.  Then, digital wisdom kicked in – scroll down, dummy.

Here’s my results.

Now, a couple of things about the quiz…

All that you need to know are the names of the states.  The software floats the names into place for you.  That makes it helpful because the New England states are kind of small on the map…  And, you need to know how to spell.  I felt pretty good being able to spell Massachusetts although you could have caught me sounding it out and typing with my fingers crossed.  The quiz has a timer which I always find unnerving but I suppose that just adds to the fun.

So, thanks to my elementary teachers and a lifelong enjoyment of country music, I was able to nail it.  (I don’t think you can easily fudge it).

You have 10 minutes.  Go!

Give it a shot – how did you do?

Leave a Reply

