This Week in Ontario Edublogs

Happy Last Friday, Ontario Educators.  Thanks so much for sharing your learning over the course of the school year.  It’s wonderful that you’re continually thinking and growing professionally through your blogs.  Some of the great stuff I read this past week…


Skype and Learning

A wonderful post from Joan Vinall Cox brought out some emotions on this end of the keyboard when I read it.  Joan shares how she uses Skype to stay in touch with her 92 year old father.

Kudos to your dad, Joan.  I wish I could do the same.


IS LINEAR THE RIGHT APPROACH?

Donna Fry took a few moments to reflect on an article “Learning Is Non-Linear. Why Not Curriculum?“.  In her post, she shared a thought from a former principal.

I had read the original article as well.  A lot of it makes sense but requires a new set of thinking and planning.  We have the philosophy that we can’t move ahead until a certain amount of student understanding has been achieved.  I had to smile when I think about online learning and how units or lessons are “released” when ready.

I also have visions of ISUs but recognize that they are for a short time frame.

I can see it working with motivated students on a limited basis.  I’m having difficulties seeing an implementation that goes beyond that and being successful for all students.


Turn your computer into a ‘Mystery Machine’

Stacey Manzerolle offers a suggestion for planning for the fall.

In a nutshell, she describes the process of the Mystery Skype classroom.  It is an activity designed to exploit the connected classroom.  I’ve heard from so many people about the successes that they’ve had with the approach.  It’s worth checking out.


The Metaphor Project: Creating A Way Station for Change Agents

I thought that Stephen Hurley’s post about his launch of the Metaphor Project would be a perfect launch into summer.  At this time, people have more time to look around and investigate just a little closer.

I think he kicked off his project nicely with the video that he shared.  I had seen it earlier and got focused on the technology behind it which I found fascinating.  However, he shifted things by asking us to consider what it means about change in the organization.  And, he provided a few prompts.

Stepping back though, I took a different angle.  Without the movie, if you asked me what happens when a drop hits a watery surface, I think I would have had one answer.  It was only by slowing the process down and really paying attention that I realize my assumption would be incorrect.

Is that the takeaway?  Do we see better when we slow down and take the time to challenge our assumptions?

What a wonderful way to start thinking about things for the summer!  Thanks, Stephen.


I never fail to get inspired by the thoughts and openness of Ontario Educators.  Please make sure that you check out these posts and all the ones from Ontario Educators here.

Perhaps this summer you’re taking an AQ course or you’re going to take the leap and start your own blog.  Please consider adding it to the form at the Ontario Educators page.  I’d love to add your wisdom to the others.

Leave a Reply

