Has Every App Been Written?

I had to smile a bit when I read this story on Mashable.  “Marketing Students Create Concept Video for ‘Google Gesture’ App“.

It was interesting to read the story and read some other stories with a different take on the same deal.  But, it got me thinking…

For many school districts, this June marks the end of a year or a second year of 1:1 or BYOD.  There will be some high flyers that have used some of the numerous tools to write their own application.  Hey, even I wrote “My Own Flappy Bird“.  It certainly wasn’t from original work and development; I had used the example from one of the Hour of Code resources and then modified it just to see what I could do.  After all, there’s nothing like creating something that’s “yours”.

In the classroom, teachers or someone tall selects the applications that students get to use.  I doubt that anyone short has anything to say.  More than likely it’s tied to the curriculum or an IT Department decides that they can support it.  What voice do the students have?

Maybe, they need to take a look at the concept behind this story.  They may not be able to write the code, but how about creating a video explaining what sort of application they would like to make their life as student complete?  Perhaps they have some insight as to a productivity tool that would be helpful.  Or, maybe a homework helper?  Or, a research tool that works for them?  Or, maybe something even more important.

As I was thinking about this, I poked around the applications that I have installed on my iPad.  I have a collection of comic creators.  As I looked around seriously (and this isn’t why I’m not naming names or titles …), I noticed an area of exclusion.  The characters that were available didn’t give a complete sampling of Ontario society.  If I’m sitting in class, looking around, I wouldn’t always be able to find a character representing all of my classmates or, in some cases, me.  That isn’t right.  It would be a shame if the story had to be changed just because I couldn’t find myself or my friends as one of the characters.

I wonder — if a student could create a video outlining what should be in a new application to be written, what would it be?  Personal?  Cool?  Productive?  Enjoyment?  Entertainment?  

We’ll never really know until we find a way to amplify their voice.

One Reply to “Has Every App Been Written?”

Leave a Reply

