More Random Places to Visit

The “Secret Door” was a very interesting resource to explore.  There were so many interesting places to discover.

After playing around, I found a similar resource which gives you a little more control over where you might end.

MapCrunch gives you access to the world – just as you like it!

Pick a country (or a continent) and additional parameters, if you wish and click go.  The resulting image from Google’s Streetview takes you on your virtual trip.

I was totally addicted to the fact that I could limit the results to things from indoors.  It’s almost creepy to take a look inside buildings!  I’ll be honest – that didn’t stop me!

Of course, the applications to the classroom are limitless.  Like the Secret Door, the results can be an interesting launching pad for a blog post or in-class discussion.

Going local is always nice.  I’m constantly amazed at places within my home town that the cameras have discovered.  By selecting the map option instead of a country or continent, you can limit the results to a particular location.  I decided to zoom in on Amherstburg and check out the images from there.

This is a view that my dog and I have seen many times!

There’s a covered bus stop (although we don’t have any buses) and off to the right, the River Town Time office.  If you look closely, you can see the name in the window.

If you like exploration, you’ll really enjoy poking around and exploring places familiar and unfamiliar.

3 thoughts on “More Random Places to Visit

  1. You keep finding more fun places for my students to explore. This definitely goes on the list for next year, as we’re working on directions. Navigating from your hotel to the Metro to the Louvre, to a particular painting, for example. 🙂

    Like

  2. That’s awesome, Lisa. Particularly if you’re giving directions in a second language, you’ll want to make sure you’re precise. I have this recurring nightmare of being in a cab with a driver who doesn’t speak English and I don’t speak his/her native tongue and end up in the most bizarre places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

