What is your blog’s personality?

I was away from the keyboard or this post would have been done yesterday!

Over the weekend, I had posted a Response to Spammers blog post.  It was just a fun little poke at the spammers that make running a blog so interesting…

As I do, the link to the blog post also appears in my Facebook timeline and it generated a couple of interesting replies.

This…

wendy

and…

alfred

Of course, they’re both right.  They have their own blog and they can make it be whatever they want it to be.

Your blog has a personality that comes across with every word you type, phrase you use, image you elect to show, opinion you share with others.  But your blog’s personality doesn’t stand alone.  Yes, you’re the initiator of words, thoughts, ideas, concepts, and yet there’s another side.  It’s the commenter, liker, resharer that makes it more than just a collection of words.  You send a message by the way you handle replies.

As the configurer of your blog, you can handle replies however you want.  It’s the personality and the experience that you wish to extend to your visitors.  You could:

  • leave the blog wide open to replies;
  • accept no replies at all;
  • preview all replies and make the ones that you like go public;
  • use a third party utility like Disqus to potentially have better control over spammers;
  • use a CAPTCHA to make sure that it’s a human typing the response;

Each option definitely sends a message and, ultimately, defines a personality to your blog.  It sends a message of trust, reliability, functionality, usability, …

What do you think?  If you’re a blogger yourself, what options have you chosen?  If you visit blogs, how do you feel about ones that implement one or more of the above options?

And, for Doug’s moment of inquiry this morning, what do you think is the personality of this blog?

4 thoughts on “What is your blog’s personality?

  1. I trust the spam filter that blogger.com has built in. It does a pretty good job with few false positives. It does put some comments into a separate area for me to check and I check that every day. Not too many real spam messages get posted and it is not too much trouble to check that every day.
    I don’t like the idea of requiring people to sign in or solve a CAPCHA. Since those things annoy me the Golden Rule pretty much requires me not to use them. 🙂 I’d rather deal with the little spam that gets past the filter than make it too hard for people to comment.

    Like

  2. I just use the filters wordpress has already. Also, my blog has a privacy setting , so the average person would have to look for my blog. If I have a post I want shared, I give the link on twitter and trust my PLN to read any entries they choose once they have the address. The potential is there, but my audience is quite small and I really haven’t had any worries with spam.

    Like

  3. I allow comments; I encourage them, really. I have very little spam getting past WordPress, but that’s probably more a reflection of the amount of traffic I get than anything else 🙂

    I don’t like having to sign up for something to post a comment. I can handle Disqus if I have to, but I like the sites which take my WordPress identity as sufficient. Of course, a good chunk of my reading is on WordPress, so that works out nicely. 🙂

    Your blog encourages comments; that’s the feeling I get, so that’s why I comment!

    Like

  4. Pingback: OTR Links 05/29/2014 | doug --- off the record

Leave a Reply

