It’s the Little Things

My morning dog walk on Friday took us past the local elementary school.  The dog was taking in all the smells at ground level and I’m looking around for anything to amuse me during our morning ritual.

As we passed the school, two cars pulled into the parking lot almost in synch.

The doors open and two fathers stepped out and released their daughters from their car seats.

Then, something amazing happened.

The two girls, with their backpacks in place, came together.  They held hands and skipped up the sidewalk to the school.  The fathers followed them in.

I felt a little out-of-place.  I can’t remember the last time I skipped anywhere.  During this winter, I swear my dog, part Husky, skipped through the snow drifts on our walks but that’s about it.

So, I ask.  When was the last time you lived the true joy of youth and skipped somewhere?

It’s the little things.  Actually, maybe that’s everything.

5 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things

  1. Maybe it’s not with that kind of carefree exuberance, but I like to sit down and play with my kids. It reminds me about what’s important, and I never, ever regret spending that time with them (I can’t say that about a lot of other activities in life).

    Like

  2. So amazing that you wrote this today – we were just talking about this yesterday after watching a little guy crossing the street with his mum. She walked. He danced! With such joy and abandon!
    We skipped on our walk yesterday, just to affirm that we still could!
    And it felt so good …..

    Like

  3. That’s so good to hear, Susan. Maybe you should organize a skip through the Ed Centre. People would pay good money to see Mark skip, I bet! I will admit that I did a little skip and go a nasty look from my dog for breaking his pace. I haven’t done that in years and feel badly that it took this long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

