More to Think About

I’m still looking for some way to build stories from Twitter messages.  For the longest time, I’ve just built a Storify document.  Storify has a very powerful search that easily identifies Twitter messages provided you can find them.  In a recent post “To Storify or Not To Storify“, I shared how to build the story using a similar search routine from within WordPress itself.

Then, I remembered an installation that I had done a while back by hadn’t really used.  It promises to makes me lean back towards Storify as the way of doing things.

I use the Hootsuite Twitter management software.  One of the things that Hootsuite does to extend its functionality, is to allow for third party apps.  In fact, Storify has such an app.

I had installed it, probably tested it, and then forgot it.

However, now that I’ve found it again, it may offer a solution for me.

Once installed, it injects itself into the pulldown menu for each Twitter message displayed in Hootsuite.

And, when you choose that option, the following dialog appears…

Create a new story or add to an existing documents.

It’s that simple.

This app, one of the ones available from the Hootsuite App Directory, may be enough to remain with Storify.  Now, if I could just embed it into a WordPress.com post….

2 Replies to “More to Think About”

  1. Doug, your post definitely intrigued my students. When they walked in on Friday, I heard some of them talking about Flappy Bird. I mentioned that a friend of mine wrote a blog post about how to make your own Flappy Bird. Now that hooked them. They wanted to know how to get to your post. I told them what to Google, and then one student tracked down the post and helped the others find it. About 8 students started playing around on the website, but two persevered, and one finished her Flappy Bird Game on Friday. She worked during the two indoor nutrition breaks on it. She’s intrigued by some of the changes you can make to it, and asked if she might be able to tweet you a few questions (just as an FYI). The thinking, creating, and problem solving that went with this activity, made this a Flappy Bird conversation that I could handle. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this great idea!

    Aviva

    Like

  2. I picked up a tweet just after reading your blog. An American member of my PLN was retweeting a request from a friend who was looking for coding resources. I sent him the link to your post, and the original searcher tweeted back with thanks. Your info goes all over the place, and I’m hoping to use it with a coding club after March break. My students, like Aviva’s, get to hear about things my friend Doug is writing about. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

