Design

Just as I posted my thoughts about the change in theme around here, I read this article. “Goodbye to 8 Design Elements Whose Time has Come“.  I had read a similar article recently and it gives some things to tink about and most of this will be in context of my recent change.  I’m also smiling thinking of the website design courses that I’ve taught over the years.  Yeah, I do go back to Notepad…

The Drop-Down Menu
There was a time when this was the most desirable thing in website design.  Probably in its earliest incarnation, it was a good idea.  But, once people realized that they could add drop-down menus, they appeared everywhere.  Especially when you learned how to make a menu function just by hovering your cursor over the hotspot.  How annoying it is to reach a website with these beasts all over the place.  There are sites that I’ve visited that literally you have to look for a spot for your cursor to rest without activating something!  Plus…there’s no telling how the developer will handle the menu or flyout – horizontally, vertically…

Carousel
I was never a fan of the rotating graphic or banner so I was so pleased that this made the list.  It always seemed like it was a feature that could be added just because the webmaster could figure out how to do it!  When you don’t have control over the sliding/rotating stuff, you could literally wait minutes for the desired slide to come back.  Then, heaven help you if you’re not a quick reader to take it all in before it rotates off!  Let the user control what she/he wants to read.

Internet Explorer 9
I’m not sure why IE was picked on for this point. It could be any of the major browsers.  With automatic updates, you can be assured that any browser should work without having to worry about adding the warning “This site best viewed by ******** ******** or better”.  Between the desktop, notebook, tablet, smartphone, all browser developers need to be agile.  Hopefully, you’re letting your device play along.

Skeumorphism
I’ll admit – I had to look it up to be sure I understood fully.  The image of the station wagon put it all in perspective for me.  I agree – I won’t miss the attempt to make things take on the appearance of something else just for navigation purposes.  A link is a link is a link is a link…

Flash
I’m smiling at this.  I conducted more Flash workshops that I can count.  There was a time when everyone wanted to have Flash elements on their websites.  It was a badge of accomplishment until all of the problems surfaced with it.  For me, ActionScript was fun; just another programming language.  For those who wanted to learn it all in a two hour workshop, not so much…

Web Pages
This is sad given all the time and effort we spent moving from Notepad to Dreamweaver and adding all of the elements of design and state of the art to create digital masterpieces.  Now, it’s just a matter of people wanting to get to the content.  I still have a webpage at http://www.dougpeterson.ca that’s not very fancy – it is just a launchpad to our family online presence.  After that, everything is created in some sort of content management system.

Shared Hosting
In my world, this is very much related to the web pages above.  My own host now is basically a playground for things that I’m doing.  Anything that is public is located elsewhere.

“m.” Sites
This is where the promise of new technology really delivers.  Very much tied to the concept of updated browsers, do you really need a second website devoted to those who are visiting via a mobile device?  In fact, I can see this whole bit flipping as more and more visitors arrive via mobile instead of desktop.  Is there any difference between Google Chrome on a mobile versus a desktop?

This is one of those articles that I read three of four times plus make reference to it during the post.  I think that the author has nailed it and I’m so pleased that my new theme seems to address this nicely.  If I could add one thing – Outlaw Times New Roman – could there be a more difficult font to read in a browser?

3 Replies to “Design”

  1. I was just talking to someone yesterday about sites with hover-flyout menus that Windows tablets seem to have trouble handling (whether that’s the tablet’s fault or the site’s fault is unclear to me). Reminds me too of the video that starts playing (sometimes loudly) when your mouse cursor accidentally strays inside the video’s borders – it’s very inconsiderate of a site designer to have audio that doesn’t require a click or tap. My office mates agree, I’m sure. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

