A New Look for My Stash

For the longest time, I have used Instapaper as a way to stash away stories that I find but can’t address immediately.  

If it’s something that I want to share with the world right away, I’ll use Twitter.  Packratius does an awesome job of taking any link that I send to Twitter and posting it to Diigo.

If it’s something that I want to bookmark permanently without going through Twitter, I’ll use Diigo directly.

But I’ve always had a need for that something in between.  It may be a story that I want to spend some time with before I decide how to handle it.  It might be an interesting new application that I need to work my way through before the final determination.

To address this need, I stash things away in my Instapaper account.  Like any good connected service these days, it runs through the web but also has an app for major devices like Android, iOS, and Kindle. 

Recently, Instapaper has had a major overhaul in appearance that also results in what I’m finding easier navigation through the thngs in this digital nether world that I’ve created.  True to its name, it does look more like paper but the navigation options along the left really reinforce the concept of instant.

The technique has served me well.  But I’m always open to new ideas.  Do you have a better way to store things temporarily for later consideration?  If so, I’d love to hear about it.

3 thoughts on “A New Look for My Stash

  1. Hi Doug, nice work! I tend to use Pocket (http://getpocket.com) these days instead of Instapaper. I used to like Pocket’s interface over Instapaper’s (which I used to use) but that may have changed with the latter’s recent update.

    I also use Stellar.io (run by Jason Kottke) as it presents my Twitter favourites in a nice way ready for my weekly newsletter. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Doug,
    http://www.evernote.com is great for longer term archiving and being able to surface content that you want to read later from searches (you can see results from Evernote in regular Google searches). Evernote’s clipper and “clearly” plugins for Chrome and Firefox are great to grab a copy for offline reading later. Combined with the technique set out at http://thesecretweapon.org/, I’m getting much more done. You might also like to consider http://www.ifttt.com so that you can direct any of those outputs between the various services you already use.

    I also use http://www.getPocket.com in place of Instapaper as there are good apps for my mobile devices.

    Like

  3. Gentlemen…thanks for your comments. I love it when we can start a conversation with a blog post. I do use Pocket, Evernote, and IFTTT for other purposes. Instapaper was my first and I have an archive there that goes back years and years. With my former employer, I had a group that I met with monthly who kept me on my toes to stay on top of things. Instapaper was part of my answer. I’ve often said that I’m curating my own personalized search engine.

    I appreciate the leads and will check out thesecretwagon.org and stellar.io later today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

