This Week in Ontario Edublogs

It was another great week of blogging from Ontario Edubloggers.  Here are a few things that caught my eye.

Valuing

Nathan Hall wrote one of those posts that make you think.  He spent a post talking about value.  It’s worth a read and reflection.  I might spend some time later and use this as inspiration for a post of my own.  I particularly liked his collection of things associated with the word “worth”.

image

Bonus to the post – interested in ELT?  You might well be interested in the Blog Carnival!  http://eltresearchblogcarnival.wordpress.com/

======

Golf: My New Pub Experience!

Everyone who’s ever teed it up has a golf story and Stephen Hurley is no exception.  I hope that he at least stops the conversation while his friends are putting!

image

I’m sure that the fact that most golf courses have a pub onsight is not lost on Stephen.

======

Thoughts on School Design

I lived through the concept of School Design with a former superintendent.  My old district designed themed schools and we all had our input and opportunity to share thoughts and philosophy with him.  Interestingly, when all is said and done, the heart of a school are the students and teachers that will live and learn there for 10 months of the year.  David Fife shares some of this thoughts as he gets ready to move into his new school for the fall.

image

======

The Reach of Educational Blogging

I think that every blogger wonders about the reach of her/his blog and their entries.  You can get totally lost in analytics if you choose to.  I find it fascinating to speculate on what makes one post here more popular than others.  Sheila Stewart’s recent post takes it personal as she shares some of her reflections about blogging.

I thought it was a great read after reading Nathan’s post on value.

image

======

Connected Through Inquiry

Joanne Babalis’ recent  post is a nice call to action for those who are serious about inquiry in their classroom.  She’s looking for participants so if you’re one of those curious, read what she’s offering.

image

In the spirit of timing is everything, I ran across this resource today as I was assembling this post – Building Children’s Understanding of the World through Environmental Inquiry – ow.ly/nxKgT

Thanks to the above for their inspirational posts.  I thoroughly enjoy reading and learning from their content.  There’s a little something for everyone; check out these terrific posts.  You can see the entire collection of Ontario Edublogs here.  The most recent additions are at the top of this ScoopIT! page.

3 thoughts on “This Week in Ontario Edublogs

  1. Thank you so much for the mention and the kind words, Doug. I am always a bit surprised when someone makes a comment that something I wrote made them think. For me, it was just a topic that was on my mind and I wanted to get it written down to help me sort through it.

    Thank you once again. I really appreciate the feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

