Choosing Names Wisely

I will absolutely blame Rockmelt for taking me on a tangent today.

I read this story from my Rockmelt feed.

71 names so awful New Zealand had to ban them.

That took me off on a reading spree.  Some of the reading included:

I think anyone who ever has been fortunate enough to have children ultimately get the questions “Daaaaaad or Moooooom, why did you call me that?”

Sometimes, it’s to maintain a family naming tradition; sometimes it’s to honour a family member; sometimes it’s a trend;

Or, as I told my kids it’s because I lost a bet!

As I look through some of the names that made the list, I can totally concur.  It may be a cause of trama to be names after a weird uncle but imagine the years of sessions on the couch that would be the result of being named some of them.

Then, I started to think about Twitter handles.  Maybe not so legislated as something that will go on a birth certificate but could still create some cause for concern.  After all, the following names are open:

  • runswithscissors
  • reallyweirdgeek

and there seem to be some names that appear to be victims of cybersquatting

  • macabuser
  • jerkface
  • Dorkusmalorkus

Naming a baby is one thing.  You can have more than one person with the same name.  Not so on Twitter.  Every name has to be unique.  What happens when all the good names are gone?  Do you have a dougpete1?  or a dougpete2?

Or, perhaps as my friend Peter Skillen once proposed that he “dugpete”.

So, when you register your baby’s name, should you also register and maintain a Twitter name for them so that they don’t get stuck with a really bizarre one out of necessity?

Nah, Twitter won’t be around then.

 

Leave a Reply

