Learning from Radio

Talking about new ways to learn brought another thing to mind.  I’ve been a subscriber to XM Radio for a few years now.  I really like it, other than the fact that I wish you had the option to just subscribe to one channel!  If that was the case, I’d just subscribe to E Street Radio.

Other than music from one of our lifetime’s great artists, it’s just the fact that I’ve learned a great deal just listening to the station.  In particular, there’s a show called “Cover Me” devoted to Bruce Springsteen covers – either other artists who have covered his music or music that he’s covered.

From that, I’ve learned the following…

Blinded By The Light” – I would have sworn that this was an original by Manfred Mann.  Not so!  It was written by Springsteen!

Jersey Girl” – Again, I was wrong.  I would have thought this to be an original Bruce song.  It was originally written by Tom Waits.

And finally, this week, I have a new infatuation.  The tables are turned in the opposite direction.  I heard a version of Springsteen’s “Mansion on the Hill” by The National.  I really liked it and am now on a mission to listen to all of The National I can get.

This is a great find for me and I’ve just got to listen my way through this playlist.

Learning comes from the darnedest places!  What did people do before YouTube?

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

