First Crack at Quantal Quetzal

Like many Ubuntu users, I wait with anticipation every April and October for the next “on-schedule” release of Ubuntu.  So, on October 18, I was there to download the latest update and kick the tires.  I think I may have mentioned once or twice my pathetically slow internet but this time it actually was helpful.  The download that would take a normal 45 minutes or so was 6 hours in length and so I had plenty of time to do other things.  I walked the dog, raked some leaves, had lunch, and did some reading.

I figured that, as long as I was upgrading, I might as well get informed of what I was expecting.  I did a search for “New features in Ubuntu 12.10” and found this article from OMG! Ubuntu!  It was titled “10 Things To Do After Installing Ubuntu 12.10”.  Normally, when I do upgrades, I just poke about and see what’s there.  This time, I decided to go methodically and try all the 10 steps.

Here’s how it went.

I guess the first thing I should do is explain my environment.  I have a Sony Vaio that dual boots Windows 7 and Ubuntu.  Sometimes I live in one environment; other times I live in the other.  I must admit to being very frustrated with Windows at times.  It starts out nicely but the moment you install software it slows and slows despite doing all the maintenance that I’m supposed to.  Ubuntu…well, it just flies and I’m ready to log in.  I was very pleased that the upgrade carried the proprietary drivers forward.  I was connected wireless from the first boot.

1)  Get up to Speed – Check!  As I was downloading the 12.10 upgrade, I watched the video.  Yes, it’s promotional but it did give me a flavour of what’s to come.  I’ll embed the video so that you can enjoy it as well.

2)  Check for Updates – Check!  Just a couple of late additions.  This was scary because I’d just waited for 6 hours to get the release as it was.

3)  Install Media Codes – Hmmm.  I wonder if I need to.  I don’t do a great deal of media so I loaded my favourite VLC and it played a couple of files that I would normally use.  I’ll have to keep my eyes on this should I run into problems in the future.  For now, pass.

4)  Add Your Online Accounts – Check!  Easily done.  I’m carrying baggage in that I have Hootsuite as a separate Twitter account – check Facebook manually and don’t do a great deal of chatting.  This may be a future direction for me.  I’ll keep an eye on it.

5)  Integrate Some Web Apps – Check!  This was a highly anticipated feature of Quantal Quetzal so I really wanted to see how this works.  I set it up so that Gmail is installed as a Web apps and it appears in the launcher.  That was easy.  The article makes reference to a number of supported web sites that can be converted to webapps.  This feature will need some mulling about.

6)  Adjust Your Privacy Settings – Check!  I really like the fact that this has been included.  To be able to cherry pick what’s kept and what’s not looks like a great feature.  I’m the only one who uses this computer.  Nobody ever asks “Can I borrow your Ubuntu box?”  It’s always “Can I borrow your Mac?”  I think it’s a really handy feature but I probably will never use it.  Anyone who looked at it would probably be bored to tears by what I do anyway…

7)  Enable Hardware Drivers  – Check!  I remember having to do this manually with a previous release of Ubuntu.  It involved getting more from my mVidia card.  I checked out the additional drivers and the setting appeared to be carried forward.  Looking good.

8)  Disable (or Remove) the Shopping Lens – Check!  I’d been reading about this.  The integration with Amazon had been debated and discussed all over the place.  I was ready to do all that I could to disable it.  In actual practice, it didn’t seem too intrusive.  The Amazon results appear at the bottom of any search in the dash and, at least for the moment, I’m intrigued by the results that are generated by my search.  I’ll leave it on for now, knowing how to get rid of it in the future.

9)  Set Up Ubuntu One – Check! Already done.  You can never have enough free cloud.  Interesting to see that there’s now a Macintosh client.

10) Enjoy it! – Check!  I enjoy the quick boot; Chrome and Firefox browsers; the new version of LibreOffice that I’d been hesitant to upgrade in 12.04 because of internet speed; enjoy and used The Gimp this afternoon.  For the past little while, I’ve also been using Blogilo as a blogging client.

So far, it’s been a very smooth upgrade.  I did it more for curiosity and hobbiest purposes.  It’s not an LTS but I’ve never been burned by Ubuntu in the past.  Things just seem to work and work quickly.  I’m sure that there are more enhancements and fixes than what were covered in this article.  I did appreciate the 10 step upgrade though.  It focussed me on the details.  Anyone else upgraded and have things to share?

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

Leave a Reply

