I’m Now a Rebel

Admittedly, it’s not as cool as when the Christian Science Monitor called me “snooty” but it’s cool all the same.

I’m talking about a new service called RebelMouse.  It’s currently in invite mode but I thought I’d apply and grab “dougpete” while I could and before someone else did.  RebelMouse calls itself your “Social Front Page”.    It sounded interesting and so I applied for an account a while back (couple of weeks) and was told that I was waiting.  Quite frankly, waiting quickly becomes forgetting for me.  That is, until I received an email indicating that I was “in” and my account now active. 

Of course, I had to check it out.  Just what I needed though — another web presence to create and manage.

Except RebelMouse was different.  I had tied my Twitter account to RebelMouse and it was doing its thing for me.  Its thing is to follow my conversations and interactions from Twitter and puts it together on my RebelMouse page!  All of this, without my interaction at all.  How incredibly cool is that?

 

rebel1

 

My immediate thought for a use was to show those who have trouble seeing the value of Twitter as a resource and learning environment.  Sometimes, it truly can be a hard sell when you show a typical Twitter stream.  It’s text and URLs and the value can sometimes be a little difficult to explain.  Here, it’s right up front in your face.  Want to know what dougpete is talking about on Twitter?  Don’t work your way through my Twitter history, check out my RebelMouse page at http://www.rebelmouse.com/dougpete/.  That’s all there is to it.

The second thought is that the presentation is a great deal like that other popular service.  Every story is an image that lets you click through to the original article.  Yes, uh, it is.  The only difference is that it’s all done automatically here. 

Everything?

Well, almost everything.  RebelMouse makes a judgement call on content – it looks like the determining factor is whether or not there’s a graphic on the target location.  If there is, it goes right on the page.  If not, it goes to a section called “Drafts” where presumably you could fix it up and post it.  Once posted, it’s there for anyone to enjoy.  If you need to fix it up, there’s a set of tools that becomes visible when you mouse over any of the content posted.

 

rebel2

You do have control over the way that it interacts with your Twitter account.

The icons are pretty straight forward … edit, move, freeze, delete. Ooooh.  I’m liking this.  But, it’s the top one that’s really interesting. It’s your own analytics for clicks on the link. 

Now, I’m not sure that people care that much about what I’m doing but you don’t have to be alone with RebelMouse. You can add collaborators as well. The developers have made a “Stick it” bookmark that you can use or share with team members to post directly to the page. So, if you were putting together a commonly created internet resource, add some authors, give them access, and let the collection collect!

There are a number of combinations to let you tweak exactly what it is that appears on your page.

rebel3

I know that there are many people looking for a curation tool that works like this.  This may just be the solution.

Presumably, you could tie your Facebook account into this as well.  I’m not sure I want to go that far.  I tend to be more personal there than I am on Twitter and who is interested in my dog threatening to call the Humane Society after a defurring session.

jaimie

I like what I see so far.  I’m going to play with this for a while.  If you’re “in” as well, I’d be very interested it your thoughts and ideas about how to use this service.

2 Replies to “I’m Now a Rebel”

Leave a Reply

