This Week in Ontario Edublogs

As the school year comes down to the last couple of weeks, there are a few Ontario Edublogs that have fallen behind as other classroom things take on a higher priority.  Regardless, I still found a number of great reads.

From Consultants and SATs
Not every blog post is a happy one.  This has been sitting on Paul Cornies’ blog for a little while now.   I can understand how someone grows weary of blogging and Paul was a daily blogger.  His insights into famous quotes was so inspirational.

I was there when Paul got the inspiration to start blogging and sharing his thoughts.  I was a regular reader of his material and was so impressed with the breadth of followers that he had.  I was hesitant to even mention this event because I hoped that he might change his mind.

But, it appears that it isn’t going to happen.  He has closed the doors to his blog.  In a world of blogs that take on many shapes and formats, his was truly unique.  Quoteflections was a great name for a blog with even greater content.  I will miss Paul’s efforts but I do hope that he leaves the blog online for a while just so that others can be inspired.

From Parents / School Advocates
Lorna Constantini is part of a group that puts together online educational sessions of special interest to parents.  In a recent session, Aaron Puley from Hamilton Wentworth was interviewed on a number of topics.

The summary sounds great.  I’ve attempted to attend these seminars in the past but haven’t been successful.  If you’ve read my blog, I have absolutely horrible internet service.  Things that stream, particularly in the evening, are unreachable by me. Sigh.

But, if you have the ability, check out the sessions.  Or, they do archive them and make them available from Lorna’s blog.

From Principals, VPs, and Administrators
I listen to many people because I never know where the next great idea or insight will come.  I feel sorry for people who don’t take the time to listen.  Peter Skillen is one gentleman that I listen to intently when I have the chance.  I had a chance this week at an ECOO Conference Planning Meeting, and another chance on his blog.

We’ve had a number of discussions about constructionism and connectivism as I refined my thoughts about the impact that a Minds on Media session can have.  In his most recent post, Peter takes an introspective look at himself.  He thought he was a Social Constructionist.  In framing his thoughts, he shared some of the reading that he’s done to help him get where he’s currently thinking.

I think that it’s a good sign of professional growth when you challenge who or what you think you are.  I sure as heck don’t want to be the person that I was when I stood in front of my first class.  To quote Montgomery Gentry, that was “Back When I Knew It All”.  

I try not to label myself, but as a computer science educator, I undoubtedly have constructivist leanings.  But, there’s this connectivism that has been so critical for me over the past few years.  Personally, I like to think that I’m working at a level that lets me take advantage of the best of both.  Maybe I need to talk to Peter about this.

From K-12 Teachers
Undoubtedly, this post by Scott Kemp was inspired by the current situation in the province of Ontario.  Scott talks about how there are two discussions about teachers that one might hear.

He argues that people love “the teacher” who makes a significant difference in their child’s life.

But, they speak disparangingly about “teachers” and their benefits, salaries, work hours, etc.

I’m not naive enough to think that I’m objective in this interpretation but probably all the readers of the blog are with me anyway…  Scott does make a good point about shifting the conversation.  

Sadly, in recent times, there are teachers and there are teachers throwing stones at other federations because of negotiations in progress.  We need to come to grips with that too.

From Trustees, Higher Education
I think that it’s very cool when one blog inspires another one.

That happened this week.

Stephen Hurley blogged about songs for a summer road trip inspired by a post listing 13 songs every Canadian youth should know.  I replied, probably off topic, with 13 more great Canadian songs.

This lead to Stephen snagging #ds106radio for an evening and he played my 13!  I blogged about listening to the show and called the post Wolfman Hurley.  It had to do with the beard…

By the way, my wife wanted to know why “Oh Canada” wasn’t in either list.  Good point.

Check out all the great Ontario Education Blogs here.

One Reply to “This Week in Ontario Edublogs”

Leave a Reply

