Polly Twitter Client

For the longest of times, I used a desktop client for accessing my Twitter account.  I started using twhirl and eventually moved to Seesmic Desktop.  Both of these are superb clients for managing Twitter conversations.  I was happy.  But, neither were native applications and required Adobe Air and Microsoft Silverlight to run.  There’s nothing wrong with that; it’s just that there are times when you’re multitasking that you try to keep things slim and simple.  Ultimately, I moved to Seesmic Web for Chrome and it’s pretty much my 100% application.  And, there are so many to choose from.  Check out the list.

Until this week…

The nice thing about Seesmic Web was that it just worked in the Chrome browser and on Macintosh, Windows, and Ubuntu.

Earlier this week, I read about Polly for Ubuntu.  It’s a standalone client for doing the Twitter thing.  That’s one thing that caught my attention.  The other thing was it’s called “pre-alpha”.  The last time I played with something “pre-alpha”, it was something I was writing.  Usually, you hold off for Alpha or Beta on the web!  So, inspired, I downloaded Polly to give it a shot.

  • sudo add-apt-repository ppa:conscioususer/polly-unstable
  • sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install polly

All I can say is – Wow!

Pre-alpha, eh?  If this is pre-alpha, then I’m going to be really excited when it gets formally released.  

I installed the client, hooked up my Twitter account and was off.

One of my weaknesses, is wanting to have it all.  That typically means setting up a whack of columns selected for various purposes.  Of course, I guard my own identity but I keep an eye on this blog, a number of lists including the Ontario Educator lists, and then a number of search terms.  Bump – wall.  Search hasn’t been implemented in this release.  OK, I’ll take that under advisement.

But, everything else I want to do is there.  And, Polly seems to put no big load on the performance of the computer and the layout is absolutely beautiful.  There’s a lof of thought gone into the layout.

It works so nicely.  Very quickly, it’s become the Twitter browser of choice for me.

What about the Twitter browser in a Web browser?  It’s still a really nice option but I’m back into the separate application feeling.  An ALT-TAB and I’m there instead of wading my way through open tabs to find my browser.

At this point in time, I’m very happy and looking forward to seeing Polly go at least to Beta!  If there’s more to come under development, this will really be something when it’s finally formally released.

Leave a Reply

