Easily Distracted

Every morning when I sit down to read various news, I’m reminded how easily distracted by great stories.  I’ll flip open Twitter and check to see what friends across the Atlantic are sharing.  Then, I’ll open Zite and Flipboard to look for stories there.  Then, it’s into my email for News.me, Trapit, and iCurrent.  There’s no end to the reading and personal PD available.

This is just the beginning – I’ll then head to my Google Reader and see what I’ve accumulated via RSS.

There’s a distinct problem though in that any of of the stories can take me off on a tangent.  If I let it, I could very easily lose focus.  So, it’s heads down and focus.

Every now and again, there will be something that I’ll really want to spend some time with.  In that case, my go-to application is Instapaper.  The description is pretty simple.  “A simple tool to save web pages for reading later.”

The reality though is that it’s one of the best news and web resources utility in my arsenal.

The cool thing about Instapaper is that its functionality is so simple and yet the developers have done a terrific job with making their API accessible to any other application that chooses to support it.  This is but a sample of applications that use the Instapaper hook to add functionality to their service.

So, while I have my favourite utilities for my daily routine, it’s not inconceivable that any service that you’re using doesn’t support Instapaper.

Oh, and did I mention that there is a bookmarklet so that you can post directly from your browser?  And, of course, like any great service, there’s an app for that.  There’s also support for gadgets that I don’t own, like the Kindle.

Instapaper is a major utility for me.  If you’re using it, I’d be really interested in how you manage your reading-flow.  I’m not too old to learn how to do things better.

If you’re not using Instapaper, check it out.  You may be glad you did.

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

