Ontario Educator Smackdown

At least sort of…

I’ve been wanting for a while to play around with the new features of Visual.ly.  Visual.ly is trying to build a set of tools to help you build infographics.  These are the hottest things around and help you build and display messages and content.  I’ve been poking around; there is a nice collection of templates built around the Twitter and Facebook services.

I wanted to have fun but I didn’t want to get to the point of embarrassment of anyone so I tried and tossed out a number of different trials.  In itself, I think that’s impressive.  If I was designing and building an infographic manually, I certainly wouldn’t be able to make so many tries this easily.

What I ended up with is a tribute to two of the best Ontario educational minds.  Both of these individuals push my thinking each time that we get together and between times online.  They are both acknowledged leaders in the province and have contributed so much through their work with the Educational Computing Organization of Ontario, the Ontario Teachers’ Federation and, of course, Minds on Media.

I’m talking about Brenda Sherry and Peter Skillen.  And, there’s a smackdown for that on Visual.ly.  It’s just a matter of providing a couple of Twitter names and let Visual.ly build the infographic.  Here we go!

If you have ever had the pleasure to meet these terrific people, you’ll know that it should come as no surprise that you’ve got to call this smackdown a draw.

Check out Visual.ly yourself for a little fun and also the Ontario Educators on Twitter list for some raw data to fuel your fun.  If you’re an Ontario Educator and not on the list, you can fill out the form here and you will be added.

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

