Evernote for Schools

I make no bones about it.  I’m a big Evernote fan.  I have Evernote on every device that I own.  No matter where I am, notes get synched to my account when I get connected to the internet.  If you follow this blog, you’ll know that I also have a number of IFTTT rules that keep track of things about me online in my Evernote account – Facebook images that I’m tagged in, Twitter messages that @ me to name a couple.

This afternoon, I received an email inviting me to check out a new service, Evernote for Schools.

I spent a little time poking around the resource.  There, you’ll find case studies and results from educators using Evernote in a number of situations.

The ideas are indeed interesting.  There are some great ideas there.  One of the areas that seemed to be missing which I think should really stand out would be the use of Evernote in Special Education.  With my Livescribe Pen, I received a premium account and I see huge potential in both products and the combination of both.

The site also offers a 50% discount on the purchase of Evernote Premium for schools.  Time will tell when this program takes off whether or not this becomes a viable commercial endeavour.  At present, I know that many people are using the free version of Evernote.  In talking with some friends who use the product, it’s a natural storage place for notes created on devices like iPads, Android tablets, iPods, etc.  Students don’t tend to take extensive notes on those devices but point form notes are nicely created, sent to Evernote accounts, and then fleshed out when access to a desktop or laptop computer.

Those people who are real supporters talk about the seemless home/school connection for notes.  The cloud storage offers an environment of always having access to notes.

I know that the folks at Evernote are interested in making this a success.  Those who are using it will become fans of the resources and I hope help make it grow.  Not all schools will have the ability to purchase premium accounts.  Perhaps it’s time for folks to hit the OSAPAC survey to see if an Ontario license is possible.

You can follow the project on Twitter with the account @evernoteschools.

4 Replies to “Evernote for Schools”

  1. Hi Doug,
    No bones about it, Evernote is an amazing application. For me, it’s how it seamlessly works across all devices and 24/7 aspect of noting life whether it be professional or personal. One eteacher on my staff is accessing it as a way for notetaking in an integrated way for assessing self-directed student online learning. I’m learning more and more and would welcome any tips and tricks!
    Lisa

    Like

  2. Hi Doug,
    This is Ron from Evernote. Thanks so much for putting together this post and sharing with your readers. Thanks for the suggestion about Evernote and special education. We will definitely be adding new topics in the future and this is on the list. In the meantime it would be great if you could add any perspective or tips to share on our Evernote for Schools discussion forum. http://discussion.evernote.com/forum/90-evernote-for-schools/ . Let me know if you have any feedback or questions. I’d be happy to assist.

    Like

  3. Hello Doug,
    I’m also a big fan of Evernote. In a few days there’ll be a premiere of new app called SmartGTD working with Evernote’s API. SmartGTD is created to support all those busy people who want to ‘do stuff’ rather than just think about doing it. SmartGTD is based on Getting Things Done® methodology and helps to simply create tasks from Evernote’s content, whatever it is. If you’re interested just type in google SmartGTD 🙂

    Best regards,
    Anna

    Like

Leave a Reply

