In the beginning…

… we were pretty much on our own.  We’d heard of this Twitter thingy and joined just to see what it was all about.  Some stuck with it; some put it on pause and then got back to it; and some immediately turned off for a myriad of reasons.  Those of us who stuck with it did pretty well.  We were definitely the minority in our place of work but nonetheless, we persevered and developed a network of contacts providing a continuous source of professional learning opportunities.  Those that elected not to go along for the ride turned to other, more traditional ways of professional learning.  Read into that what you want.

I’m starting to see new ways of getting educators involved in the process.  These new ways are interesting and have the potential to really jumpstart colleagues into a successful first experience.  I would hazard a guess that there may well be a better rate of success with these new ways.

Instead of the single, self-motivated individual wading into the unknown, we’re seeing people joining en masse.

Today, I did a virtual presentation for a group of French language eLearning teachers.  As part of their professional learning event, they had all created Twitter accounts going in and were able to make their first steps and consolidate their learnings as a group.  While my presentation wasn’t about Twitter, you just have to know that I worked that into the presentation where I could.  As my Twitter ID was circulated, I found a number of this group following me; I reciprocated and as I did, noticed that they were following each other, creating their own critical mass.  They organized themselves around the hashtag #cavlfo for their first session and #lemoulindoug for mine.

Then, this evening, I see a message from George Couros, a principal leader at PSD70 in Alberta indicating that he had created a list of leaders from the district and is inviting people to follow members.  To ease the process, he has created a Twitter list and you can follow the entire list with a single click.

image

Two different ways of getting people going.

What impressed me about the French group was that everyone I’d see already had their images up and running in their Twitter profile.  I can just picture a massive session taking pictures and uploading to get their accounts up to speed.

Both methods are impressive and both methods are very time-economical for getting new users up and running and most importantly, learning.  Kudos to both.

What’s next?  Why, it’s Creating and Nurturing your PLN.  Fortunately, I have a post from the past to add to the conversation!  I wish both groups of educators all the best in their new Twitter adventure and hope that it provides a never ending barrage of continuous professional learning and the creation of the same great connections that I’ve enjoyed ever since I got involved.

Leave a Reply

